Year of Wonders Book
Score: 4
From 218 Ratings

Year of Wonders


  • Author : Geraldine Brooks
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 2002
  • Genre: Great Britain
  • Pages : 308
  • ISBN 10 : 0142000787
  • Total Read : 97
  • File Size : 14,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Year of Wonders Summary:

In 1666, a young woman comes of age during an extraordinary year of love and death. Inspired by the true story of Eyam, a "plague village" in the rugged hill country of England, "Year of Wonders" is a richly detailed evocation of a singular moment in history, written by the author of "Nine Parts of Desire: The Hidden World of Islamic Women."

Year of Wonders Book
Score: 4
From 3 Ratings

Year of Wonders


  • Author : Geraldine Brooks
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2002-04-30
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN 10 : 9781101079195
  • Total Read : 96
  • File Size : 12,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Year of Wonders Summary:

“Plague stories remind us that we cannot manage without community . . . Year of Wonders is a testament to that very notion.” – The Washington Post An unforgettable tale, set in 17th century England, of a village that quarantines itself to arrest the spread of the plague, from the author The Secret Chord and of March, winner of the Pulitzer Prize When an infected bolt of cloth carries plague from London to an isolated village, a housemaid named Anna Frith emerges as an unlikely heroine and healer. Through Anna's eyes we follow the story of the fateful year of 1666, as she and her fellow villagers confront the spread of disease and superstition. As death reaches into every household and villagers turn from prayers to murderous witch-hunting, Anna must find the strength to confront the disintegration of her community and the lure of illicit love. As she struggles to survive and grow, a year of catastrophe becomes instead annus mirabilis, a "year of wonders." Inspired by the true story of Eyam, a village in the rugged hill country of England, Year of Wonders is a richly detailed evocation of a singular moment in history. Written with stunning emotional intelligence and introducing "an inspiring heroine" (The Wall Street Journal), Brooks blends love and learning, loss and renewal into a spellbinding and unforgettable read.

The Cabinet of Wonders Book
Score: 4
From 18 Ratings

The Cabinet of Wonders


  • Author : Marie Rutkoski
  • Publisher : Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
  • Release Date : 2008-08-05
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 272
  • ISBN 10 : 9781429930000
  • Total Read : 72
  • File Size : 13,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Cabinet of Wonders Summary:

Marie Rutkoski's startling debut novel, the first book in the Kronos Chronicles, about the risks we take to protect those we love, brims with magic, political intrigue, and heroism. Petra Kronos has a simple, happy life. But it's never been ordinary. She has a pet tin spider named Astrophil who likes to hide in her snarled hair and give her advice. Her best friend can trap lightning inside a glass sphere. Petra also has a father in faraway Prague who is able to move metal with his mind. He has been commissioned by the prince of Bohemia to build the world's finest astronomical clock. Petra's life is forever changed when, one day, her father returns home – blind. The prince has stolen his eyes, enchanted them, and now wears them. But why? Petra doesn't know, but she knows this: she will go to Prague, sneak into Salamander Castle, and steal her father's eyes back. Joining forces with Neel, whose fingers extend into invisible ghosts that pick locks and pockets, Petra finds that many people in the castle are not what they seem, and that her father's clock has powers capable of destroying their world. The Cabinet of Wonders is a 2009 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.

Circus of Wonders Book
Score: 4
From 5 Ratings

Circus of Wonders


  • Author : Elizabeth Macneal
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2022-02-15
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 368
  • ISBN 10 : 9781982111960
  • Total Read : 73
  • File Size : 20,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Circus of Wonders Summary:

For fans of Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants, and Diane Setterfield’s Once Upon a River, an atmospheric and spectacular novel in which one woman’s life is transformed by the arrival of a Victorian circus of wonders. Step up, step up! In 1860s England, circus mania is sweeping the nation. Crowds jostle for a glimpse of the lion-tamers, the dazzling trapeze artists and, most thrilling of all, the so-called “human wonders.” When Jasper Jupiter’s Circus of Wonders pitches its tent in a poor coastal town, the life of one young girl changes forever. Sold to the ringmaster as a “leopard girl” because of the birthmarks that cover her body, Nell is utterly devastated. But as she grows close to the other performers, she finds herself enchanted by the glittering freedom of the circus, and by her own role as the Queen of the Moon and Stars. Before long, Nell’s fame spreads across the world—and with it, a chance for Jasper Jupiter to grow his own name and fortune. But what happens when her fame begins to eclipse his own, when even Jasper’s loyal brother Toby becomes captivated by Nell? No longer the quiet flower-picker, Nell knows her own place in the world, and she will fight for it. A gorgeously wrought exploration of celebrity, power, and belonging, this is a historical novel unlike any other, with an unforgettable heroine at its heart.

Caleb s Crossing Book
Score: 3.5
From 111 Ratings

Caleb s Crossing


  • Author : Geraldine Brooks
  • Publisher : Penguin Group USA
  • Release Date : 2012
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 318
  • ISBN 10 : 9780143121077
  • Total Read : 67
  • File Size : 8,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Caleb s Crossing Summary:

Forging a deep friendship with a Wampanoag chieftain's son on the Great Harbor settlement where her minister father is working to convert the tribe, Bethia follows his subsequent ivy league education and efforts to bridge cultures among the colonial elite. By the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of March. Reprint.

Foreign Correspondence Book
Score: 4
From 10 Ratings

Foreign Correspondence


  • Author : Geraldine Brooks
  • Publisher : Anchor
  • Release Date : 2011-01-26
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages : 240
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307773647
  • Total Read : 65
  • File Size : 16,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Foreign Correspondence Summary:

As a young girl in a working-class neighborhood of Sydney, Australia, Geraldine Brooks longed to discover the places where history happens and culture comes from, so she enlisted pen pals who offered her a window on adolescence in the Middle East, Europe, and America. Twenty years later Brooks, an award-winning foreign correspondent, embarked on a human treasure hunt to find her pen friends. She found men and women whose lives had been shaped by war and hatred, by fame and notoriety, and by the ravages of mental illness. Intimate, moving, and often humorous, Foreign Correspondence speaks to the unquiet heart of every girl who has ever yearned to become a woman of the world.

World of Wonders Book
Score: 4
From 10 Ratings

World of Wonders


  • Author : Aimee Nezhukumatathil
  • Publisher : Milkweed Editions
  • Release Date : 2020-09-08
  • Genre: Nature
  • Pages : 115
  • ISBN 10 : 9781571319593
  • Total Read : 86
  • File Size : 18,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
World of Wonders Summary:

“Hands-down one of the most beautiful books of the year.” —NPR From beloved, award-winning poet Aimee Nezhukumatathil comes a debut work of nonfiction—a collection of essays about the natural world, and the way its inhabitants can teach, support, and inspire us. As a child, Nezhukumatathil called many places home: the grounds of a Kansas mental institution, where her Filipina mother was a doctor; the open skies and tall mountains of Arizona, where she hiked with her Indian father; and the chillier climes of western New York and Ohio. But no matter where she was transplanted—no matter how awkward the fit or forbidding the landscape—she was able to turn to our world’s fierce and funny creatures for guidance. “What the peacock can do,” she tells us, “is remind you of a home you will run away from and run back to all your life.” The axolotl teaches us to smile, even in the face of unkindness; the touch-me-not plant shows us how to shake off unwanted advances; the narwhal demonstrates how to survive in hostile environments. Even in the strange and the unlovely, Nezhukumatathil finds beauty and kinship. For it is this way with wonder: it requires that we are curious enough to look past the distractions in order to fully appreciate the world’s gifts. Warm, lyrical, and gorgeously illustrated by Fumi Nakamura, World of Wonders is a book of sustenance and joy.

Harriet Wolf s Seventh Book of Wonders Book
Score: 3.5
From 5 Ratings

Harriet Wolf s Seventh Book of Wonders


  • Author : Julianna Baggott
  • Publisher : Little, Brown
  • Release Date : 2015-08-18
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 336
  • ISBN 10 : 9780316375092
  • Total Read : 62
  • File Size : 16,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Harriet Wolf s Seventh Book of Wonders Summary:

New York Times NOTABLE BOOK OF 2015 "A mesmerizing tale of star-crossed love and of the dark secrets in a fracturing family . . . This novel is so full of wonders that it leaves you haunted, amazed, and, like every great read, irrevocably changed."--Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You The reclusive Harriet Wolf, revered author and family matriarch, has a final confession-a love story. Years after her death, as her family comes together one last time, the mystery of Harriet's life hangs in the balance. Does the truth lie in the rumored final book of the series that made Harriet a world-famous writer, or will her final confession be lost forever? Harriet Wolf's Seventh Book of Wonders tells the moving story of the unforgettable Wolf women in four distinct voices: the mysterious Harriet, who, until now, has never revealed the secrets of her past; her fiery, overprotective daughter, Eleanor; and her two grown granddaughters--Tilton, the fragile yet exuberant younger sister, who's become a housebound hermit, and Ruth, the older sister, who ran away at sixteen and never looked back. When Eleanor is hospitalized, Ruth decides it's time to do right by a pact she made with Tilton long ago: to return home and save her sister. Meanwhile, Harriet whispers her true life story to the reader. It's a story that spans the entire twentieth century and is filled with mobsters, outcasts, a lonesome lion, and a home for wayward women. It's also a tribute to her lifelong love of the boy she met at the Maryland School for Feeble-minded Children. Harriet Wolf's Seventh Book of Wonders, Julianna Baggott's most sweeping and mesmerizing novel yet, offers a profound meditation on motherhood and sisterhood, as well as on the central importance of stories. It is a novel that affords its characters that rare chance we all long for--the chance to reimagine the stories of our lives while there's still time.