There There Book
Score: 4
From 79 Ratings

There There


  • Author : Tommy Orange
  • Publisher : McClelland & Stewart
  • Release Date : 2018-06-05
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 256
  • ISBN 10 : 9780771073021
  • Total Read : 96
  • File Size : 9,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
There There Summary:

Here is a voice we have never heard--a voice full of poetry and rage, exploding onto the page with stunning urgency and force. Here is a story of several people, each of whom has private reasons for travelling to the Big Oakland Powwow. Jacquie Red Feather is newly sober and trying to make it back to the family she left behind in shame. Dene Oxendene is pulling his life together after his uncle's death and has come to work at the powwow to honour his uncle's memory. Opal Viola Victoria Bear Shield has come to watch her nephew Orvil Red Feather, who has taught himself traditional Indian dance through YouTube videos and has come to the powwow to dance in public for the very first time. There will be glorious communion, and a spectacle of sacred tradition and pageantry. And there will be sacrifice, and heroism, and unspeakable loss. Fierce, angry, funny, heartbreaking, There There is a relentlessly paced multi-generational story about violence and recovery, memory and identity, and the beauty and despair woven into the history of a nation and its people. An unforgettable debut.

There There Book
Score: 4
From 81 Ratings

There There


  • Author : Tommy Orange
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release Date : 2018-06-05
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 304
  • ISBN 10 : 9780525520382
  • Total Read : 89
  • File Size : 19,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
There There Summary:

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • PEN/HEMINGWAY AWARD WINNER • One of The New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year • A wondrous and shattering novel that follows twelve characters from Native communities: all traveling to the Big Oakland Powwow, all connected to one another in ways they may not yet realize. Among them is Jacquie Red Feather, newly sober and trying to make it back to the family she left behind. Dene Oxendene, pulling his life together after his uncle’s death and working at the powwow to honor his memory. Fourteen-year-old Orvil, coming to perform traditional dance for the very first time. Together, this chorus of voices tells of the plight of the urban Native American—grappling with a complex and painful history, with an inheritance of beauty and spirituality, with communion and sacrifice and heroism. Hailed as an instant classic, There There is at once poignant and unflinching, utterly contemporary and truly unforgettable.

There There Book
Score: 4
From 79 Ratings

There There


  • Author : Tommy Orange
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2018-07-05
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 304
  • ISBN 10 : 9781473553392
  • Total Read : 95
  • File Size : 14,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
There There Summary:

** Shortlisted for the 2020 International Dublin Literary Award ** One of Barack Obama's best books of 2018, the New York Times bestselling novel about contemporary America from a bold new Native American voice 'A thunderclap' Marlon James 'Astonishing' Margaret Atwood, via Twitter 'Pure soaring beauty' Colm Tóibín Jacquie Red Feather is newly sober and hoping to reconnect with her estranged family. That's why she is there. Dene is there because he has been collecting stories to honour his uncle's death, while Edwin is looking for his true father and Opal came to watch her boy Orvil dance. All of them are connected by bonds they may not yet understand. All of them are here for the celebration that is the Big Oakland Powwow. But Tony Loneman is also there. And Tony has come to the Powow with darker intentions. 'An exhilarating, polyphonic debut novel... Dazzling' Daily Telegraph 'Lyrical and playful, shaking and shimmering with energy... Orange creates beauty out of tragedy' Guardian 'Bold and engrossing... Orange has got under his characters' skins, allowing them to speak for themselves' Financial Times A New York Times Top 10 Best Book 2018 An Oprah Magazine Top 15 Best Book 2018 Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 2019 Shortlisted for the Rathbones Folio Prize 2019 Winner of the Writer's Center First Novel Award 2018

Motorcycles and Sweetgrass Book
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

Motorcycles and Sweetgrass


  • Author : Drew Hayden Taylor
  • Publisher : Vintage Canada
  • Release Date : 2021-06
  • Genre: Uncategoriezed
  • Pages : 360
  • ISBN 10 : 9781039000612
  • Total Read : 78
  • File Size : 20,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Motorcycles and Sweetgrass Summary:

A story of magic, family, a mysterious stranger . . . and a band of marauding raccoons. Otter Lake is a sleepy Anishnawbe community where little happens. Until the day a handsome stranger pulls up astride a 1953 Indian Chief motorcycle - and turns Otter Lake completely upside down. Maggie, the Reserve's chief, is swept off her feet, but Virgil, her teenage son, is less than enchanted. Suspicious of the stranger's intentions, he teams up with his uncle Wayne - a master of aboriginal martial arts - to drive the stranger from the Reserve. And it turns out that the raccoons are willing to lend a hand.

There  There Book
Score: 3
From 15 Ratings

There There


  • Author : Tim Beiser
  • Publisher : Tundra Books
  • Release Date : 2017-06-06
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 24
  • ISBN 10 : 9781770497542
  • Total Read : 62
  • File Size : 14,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
There There Summary:

For fans of Penguin Problems and A Birthday for Bear, the story of a whiny rabbit pushing a patient bear to the end of his tether and learning a lesson in looking on the bright side. Do you ever feel like everything is terrible? Like nothing is ever right and you just want to hide under your pillow? Well Rabbit does, and he's not shy about sharing it. He whines, he complains, he moans, he grumps... until Bear has had enough and decides it's time for Rabbit to learn to appreciate what he has. Using nothing but the lowly common earthworm as an example, he teaches Rabbit a lesson about taking things for granted. Something the worm knows all about... Written in charming verse and featuring a delightfully domestic bear and a very surly rabbit, There, There is a fantastic tongue-in-cheek riff on the idea that "it could be worse..."

No There There Book

No There There


  • Author : Chris Rhomberg
  • Publisher : Univ of California Press
  • Release Date : 2007-02-26
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 323
  • ISBN 10 : 9780520251663
  • Total Read : 97
  • File Size : 6,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
No There There Summary:

"This sophisticated account of a remarkable city's coalitions and conflicts over half a century is an outstanding contribution to urban history and political analysis. Clearly written and amply supplied with good stories, the book will interest students of urban history, social movements, and American political change."—Charles Tilly, author of Durable Inequality "An altogether exemplary book. Rhomberg uses a combination of traditional class analysis, an institutional perspective on urban politics, and social movement theory to fashion a rich and persuasive account of the history of urban political conflict in Oakland between 1920-1975. In combining these strands of theory and research, he has also given us a model for the kind of dynamic, historically grounded political sociology that has been sadly missing in recent years."—Doug McAdam, author of Freedom Summer "Race, class, and local politics are key components of America's social fabric. On the basis of his outstanding scholarly research, Rhomberg examines the complex web of their interaction by focusing on one of the most conflicted urban scenes: Oakland, California; and taking a historical perspective on the evolving pattern of power struggles. This book will become required reading for students of urban politics."—Manuel Castells, author of The Rise of the Network Society “No There There combines a sophisticated interpretation of political and sociological urban theory with rigorous historical research… An important and stimulating book.” –Joseph A. Rodriguez, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Western Historical Quarterly

Telex from Cuba Book
Score: 3
From 28 Ratings

Telex from Cuba


  • Author : Rachel Kushner
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2008-07-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 322
  • ISBN 10 : 9781416561033
  • Total Read : 77
  • File Size : 11,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Telex from Cuba Summary:

Coming of age in mid-1950s Cuba where the local sugar and nickel production are controlled by American interests, Everly Lederer and KC Stites observe the indulgences and betrayals of the adult world and are swept up by the political underground and the revolt led by Fidel and Raul Castro. 75,000 first printing.

Always There Bear Book

Always There Bear


  • Author : Trudi Granger
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2015-03-10
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 25
  • ISBN 10 : 9781632209207
  • Total Read : 63
  • File Size : 13,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Always There Bear Summary:

Whether you’re at the beach or hiding inside on a rainy day; whether you’re having tea with a friend or reading a book by yourself; whether you’re happy and bouncing or grumpy or sick, it’s always nice to have an always there bear. He can play with you, cuddle you, and snuggle you to sleep. He likes birthdays and trampolines and sand castles and puddles. It doesn’t matter if you’re tired or sulky or shy or scared?you’ll never be lonely with your bear by your side. He will keep you company, he will cheer you on, and he will even make you feel braver. He always understands you, and most importantly, he promises to love you, forever and always, no matter what.This is a quiet, gentle, soothing book, wonderful for comforting little ones or preparing them for peaceful sleep. It’s a reassuring and heartwarming story of unconditional love and companionship throughout experiences of all kinds. Gareth Llewhellin’s sweet illustrations complement the text, and Trudi Granger’s beautifully written story works magic with its simplicity. For anyone who loved The Quiet Book, Always There Bear is just as special and just as perfect for quiet moments and trouble-free bedtimes. Sky Pony Press, with our Good Books, Racehorse and Arcade imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of books for young readers?picture books for small children, chapter books, books for middle grade readers, and novels for young adults. Our list includes bestsellers for children who love to play Minecraft; stories told with LEGO bricks; books that teach lessons about tolerance, patience, and the environment, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.