There There Book
Score: 4
From 80 Ratings

There There


  • Author : Tommy Orange
  • Publisher : McClelland & Stewart
  • Release Date : 2018-06-05
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 256
  • ISBN 10 : 9780771073021
  • Total Read : 86
  • File Size : 15,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
There There Summary:

Here is a voice we have never heard--a voice full of poetry and rage, exploding onto the page with stunning urgency and force. Here is a story of several people, each of whom has private reasons for travelling to the Big Oakland Powwow. Jacquie Red Feather is newly sober and trying to make it back to the family she left behind in shame. Dene Oxendene is pulling his life together after his uncle's death and has come to work at the powwow to honour his uncle's memory. Opal Viola Victoria Bear Shield has come to watch her nephew Orvil Red Feather, who has taught himself traditional Indian dance through YouTube videos and has come to the powwow to dance in public for the very first time. There will be glorious communion, and a spectacle of sacred tradition and pageantry. And there will be sacrifice, and heroism, and unspeakable loss. Fierce, angry, funny, heartbreaking, There There is a relentlessly paced multi-generational story about violence and recovery, memory and identity, and the beauty and despair woven into the history of a nation and its people. An unforgettable debut.

There There Book
Score: 4
From 82 Ratings

There There


  • Author : Tommy Orange
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release Date : 2018-06-05
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 304
  • ISBN 10 : 9780525520382
  • Total Read : 70
  • File Size : 11,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
There There Summary:

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • PEN/HEMINGWAY AWARD WINNER • One of The New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year • A wondrous and shattering novel that follows twelve characters from Native communities: all traveling to the Big Oakland Powwow, all connected to one another in ways they may not yet realize. Among them is Jacquie Red Feather, newly sober and trying to make it back to the family she left behind. Dene Oxendene, pulling his life together after his uncle’s death and working at the powwow to honor his memory. Fourteen-year-old Orvil, coming to perform traditional dance for the very first time. Together, this chorus of voices tells of the plight of the urban Native American—grappling with a complex and painful history, with an inheritance of beauty and spirituality, with communion and sacrifice and heroism. Hailed as an instant classic, There There is at once poignant and unflinching, utterly contemporary and truly unforgettable.

There There Book
Score: 4
From 80 Ratings

There There


  • Author : Tommy Orange
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2018-07-05
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 304
  • ISBN 10 : 9781473553392
  • Total Read : 64
  • File Size : 18,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
There There Summary:

** Shortlisted for the 2020 International Dublin Literary Award ** One of Barack Obama's best books of 2018, the New York Times bestselling novel about contemporary America from a bold new Native American voice 'A thunderclap' Marlon James 'Astonishing' Margaret Atwood, via Twitter 'Pure soaring beauty' Colm Tóibín Jacquie Red Feather is newly sober and hoping to reconnect with her estranged family. That's why she is there. Dene is there because he has been collecting stories to honour his uncle's death, while Edwin is looking for his true father and Opal came to watch her boy Orvil dance. All of them are connected by bonds they may not yet understand. All of them are here for the celebration that is the Big Oakland Powwow. But Tony Loneman is also there. And Tony has come to the Powow with darker intentions. 'An exhilarating, polyphonic debut novel... Dazzling' Daily Telegraph 'Lyrical and playful, shaking and shimmering with energy... Orange creates beauty out of tragedy' Guardian 'Bold and engrossing... Orange has got under his characters' skins, allowing them to speak for themselves' Financial Times A New York Times Top 10 Best Book 2018 An Oprah Magazine Top 15 Best Book 2018 Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 2019 Shortlisted for the Rathbones Folio Prize 2019 Winner of the Writer's Center First Novel Award 2018

Motorcycles   Sweetgrass Book
Score: 3.5
From 7 Ratings

Motorcycles Sweetgrass


  • Author : Drew Hayden Taylor
  • Publisher : Knopf Canada
  • Release Date : 2010-03-09
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 368
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307373991
  • Total Read : 82
  • File Size : 7,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Motorcycles Sweetgrass Summary:

A story of magic, family, a mysterious stranger . . . and a band of marauding raccoons. Otter Lake is a sleepy Anishnawbe community where little happens. Until the day a handsome stranger pulls up astride a 1953 Indian Chief motorcycle – and turns Otter Lake completely upside down. Maggie, the Reserve’s chief, is swept off her feet, but Virgil, her teenage son, is less than enchanted. Suspicious of the stranger’s intentions, he teams up with his uncle Wayne – a master of aboriginal martial arts – to drive the stranger from the Reserve. And it turns out that the raccoons are willing to lend a hand.

There  There Book
Score: 3
From 15 Ratings

There There


  • Author : Tim Beiser
  • Publisher : Tundra Books
  • Release Date : 2017-06-06
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 24
  • ISBN 10 : 9781770497542
  • Total Read : 95
  • File Size : 15,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
There There Summary:

For fans of Penguin Problems and A Birthday for Bear, the story of a whiny rabbit pushing a patient bear to the end of his tether and learning a lesson in looking on the bright side. Do you ever feel like everything is terrible? Like nothing is ever right and you just want to hide under your pillow? Well Rabbit does, and he's not shy about sharing it. He whines, he complains, he moans, he grumps... until Bear has had enough and decides it's time for Rabbit to learn to appreciate what he has. Using nothing but the lowly common earthworm as an example, he teaches Rabbit a lesson about taking things for granted. Something the worm knows all about... Written in charming verse and featuring a delightfully domestic bear and a very surly rabbit, There, There is a fantastic tongue-in-cheek riff on the idea that "it could be worse..."

Let the Great World Spin Book
Score: 4
From 191 Ratings

Let the Great World Spin


  • Author : Colum McCann
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2009-06-23
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 368
  • ISBN 10 : 9781588368737
  • Total Read : 82
  • File Size : 17,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Let the Great World Spin Summary:

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER • Colum McCann’s beloved novel inspired by Philippe Petit’s daring high-wire stunt, which is also depicted in the film The Walk starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt In the dawning light of a late-summer morning, the people of lower Manhattan stand hushed, staring up in disbelief at the Twin Towers. It is August 1974, and a mysterious tightrope walker is running, dancing, leaping between the towers, suspended a quarter mile above the ground. In the streets below, a slew of ordinary lives become extraordinary in bestselling novelist Colum McCann’s stunningly intricate portrait of a city and its people. Let the Great World Spin is the critically acclaimed author’s most ambitious novel yet: a dazzlingly rich vision of the pain, loveliness, mystery, and promise of New York City in the 1970s. Corrigan, a radical young Irish monk, struggles with his own demons as he lives among the prostitutes in the middle of the burning Bronx. A group of mothers gather in a Park Avenue apartment to mourn their sons who died in Vietnam, only to discover just how much divides them even in grief. A young artist finds herself at the scene of a hit-and-run that sends her own life careening sideways. Tillie, a thirty-eight-year-old grandmother, turns tricks alongside her teenage daughter, determined not only to take care of her family but to prove her own worth. Elegantly weaving together these and other seemingly disparate lives, McCann’s powerful allegory comes alive in the unforgettable voices of the city’s people, unexpectedly drawn together by hope, beauty, and the “artistic crime of the century.” A sweeping and radical social novel, Let the Great World Spin captures the spirit of America in a time of transition, extraordinary promise, and, in hindsight, heartbreaking innocence. Hailed as a “fiercely original talent” (San Francisco Chronicle), award-winning novelist McCann has delivered a triumphantly American masterpiece that awakens in us a sens

Getting There Book

Getting There


  • Author : Gillian Zoe Segal
  • Publisher : Abrams
  • Release Date : 2015-04-14
  • Genre: Business & Economics
  • Pages : 210
  • ISBN 10 : 9781613127711
  • Total Read : 90
  • File Size : 8,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Getting There Summary:

“The highest achievers share some of their lowest moments, and there is much wisdom to be gained from those struggles. Captivating, thought-provoking.” —David Faber, CNBC The path to success is rarely easy or direct, and good mentors are hard to find. In Getting There, thirty leaders in diverse fields share their secrets to navigating the rocky road to the top. In an honest, direct, and engaging way, these role models describe the obstacles they faced, the setbacks they endured, and the vital lessons they learned. They dispense not only essential and practical career advice, but also priceless wisdom applicable to life in general. Getting There is for everyone—from students contemplating their futures to the vast majority of us facing challenges or seeking to reach our potential. “Kudos to Gillian Zoe Segal for assembling this remarkable group of visionaries and helping them all tell their stories without filters or false bravado. Getting There is both empowering and illuminating.” —Piper Kerman, New York Times-bestselling author of Orange Is the New Black “Life-changing, real-world advice.” —Vanity Fair “Reading Getting There is like having an intimate, one-on-one talk with some of the world’s most fascinating and accomplished people. You will be taken aback by their honesty, entertained by their anecdotes, and, most of all, learn invaluable lessons about both business and life. This book is fantastic—you will not be able to put it down!”—JJ Ramberg, bestselling author of It’s Your Business “Somehow, Gillian Zoe Segal has gotten these leaders to share their stories in a unique, authentic, and revealing way.” —Robert Steven Kaplan, former president and CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

There  There Book

There There


  • Author : Taro Miura
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 2016-02-01
  • Genre: Uncategoriezed
  • Pages : 24
  • ISBN 10 : 1406366048
  • Total Read : 79
  • File Size : 14,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
There There Summary:

Cow goes moo moo! Dog goes woof woof! But - uh-oh! - what can we do when Baby goes wah wah? Give Baby a lovely, big cuddle and say, 'There, there'.