The Missing Treasures of Amy Ashton Book
Score: 4
From 3 Ratings

The Missing Treasures of Amy Ashton


  • Author : Eleanor Ray
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2021-06-08
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 320
  • ISBN 10 : 9781982163525
  • Total Read : 85
  • File Size : 7,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Missing Treasures of Amy Ashton Summary:

A collector of objects, Amy Ashton, who believes it is easier to love things than people, finds her solitary existence interrupted when a new family moves in next door with two young boys--one of whom has a collection of his own.

The Missing Treasures of Amy Ashton Book
Score: 4
From 3 Ratings

The Missing Treasures of Amy Ashton


  • Author : Eleanor Ray
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2021-06-08
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 320
  • ISBN 10 : 9781982163549
  • Total Read : 60
  • File Size : 16,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Missing Treasures of Amy Ashton Summary:

For fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Evvie Drake Starts Over comes a “heartwarming and tender…good-humored and uplifting” (BookPage) debut about a reclusive artist whose collection has gotten out of control—but whose unexpected friendship with her new neighbors might be just what she needs to start over. Amy Ashton once dreamed of becoming an artist and creating beautiful objects. But now she simply collects them. Aquamarine bottles, bright yellow crockery, deep Tuscan red pots (and the odd slow cooker) take up every available inch of space in her house. Having suffered a terrible tragedy—one she staunchly refuses to let herself think about, thank you very much—she’s decided that it’s easier to love things instead of people. But when a new family moves in next door with two young boys, one of whom has a collection of his own, Amy’s carefully managed life starts to unravel, prompting her to question why she began to close herself off in the first place. As Amy embarks on a journey back into her past, she has to contend with nosy neighbors, a meddlesome government worker, the inept police, and a little boy whose love of bulldozers might just let Amy open up her heart—and her home—again. Quirky and charming, big-hearted and moving, The Missing Treasures of Amy Ashton proves that it’s never too late to let go of the things that don’t matter...and welcome the people who do.

The Missing Treasures of Amy Ashton Book
Score: 4
From 3 Ratings

The Missing Treasures of Amy Ashton


  • Author : Eleanor Ray
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2021-06-08
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 320
  • ISBN 10 : 9781982180744
  • Total Read : 76
  • File Size : 11,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Missing Treasures of Amy Ashton Summary:

For fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Evvie Drake Starts Over comes a funny and tender debut about a reclusive artist whose collection has gotten out of control—but whose unexpected friendship with a pair of new neighbors might be just what she needs to start over. Amy Ashton once dreamed of becoming an artist—of creating beautiful objects. But now she simply collects them. Aquamarine bottles, bright yellow crockery, deep Tuscan red pots (and the odd slow-cooker) take up every available inch of space in her house. Having suffered a terrible tragedy—one she staunchly refuses to let herself think about, thank you very much—she’s decided that it’s easier to love things than people. Things are safe. Things will never leave you. But when a new family moves in next door with two young boys, one of whom has a collection of his own, Amy’s carefully managed life starts to unravel, prompting her to question why she began to close herself off in the first place. As Amy embarks on a journey back into her past, she has to contend with nosy neighbors, a meddlesome government worker, the inept police, and a little boy whose love of bulldozers might just let Amy open up her heart—and her home—again. Quirky and charming, big-hearted and moving, The Missing Treasures of Amy Ashton proves that it’s never too late to let go of the things that don’t matter...and welcome the people who do.

Ripping down half the trees Book

Ripping down half the trees


  • Author : Evan J
  • Publisher : McGill-Queen's Press - MQUP
  • Release Date : 2021-06-01
  • Genre: Poetry
  • Pages : null
  • ISBN 10 : 9780228007432
  • Total Read : 73
  • File Size : 15,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Ripping down half the trees Summary:

Some poems can live without souls / but mine remain ghastly fools flicking / uncomfortable narratives like / cigarette butts during class change. One out of every twenty students in the adult education classes Evan J teaches in Sioux Lookout, Ontario, dies every year; the surviving students are often afflicted by severe racism, poverty, addictions, and violence. Ripping down half the trees engages with these struggles, offering a catalogue of experiences specific to the remote regions of Canada. Tearing down the façade of Canadian justice and equality to expose the racism, colonialism, sexism, prejudicial capitalism, and ableism at the nation's core, these are poems about cruelty, both the obvious and the ambient. They are unflinching in their sociopolitical criticism, upset by unchanging systemic oppressions, unable to overlook the threat of the author's white skin, unwilling to forget Justin Trudeau in blackface. And while they acknowledge the limits of the author's privileged perspective, they are never willing to let the perpetrating structures of this cruelty go unchecked. But these poems also let stand the shelterwood, the upstanding actions of individuals, the totems of hope. They work as coping strategies, as therapy, as empathy, offering a glimpse of optimism and a space for discourse. These are poems that listen.

Both Sides Now Book

Both Sides Now


  • Author : Peyton Thomas
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2021-08-24
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages : 300
  • ISBN 10 : 9780735269767
  • Total Read : 77
  • File Size : 17,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Both Sides Now Summary:

A witty and warm-hearted novel about a trans teen finding his place in the world perfect for fans of Red, White and Royal Blue There’s only one thing standing between Finch Kelly and a full-blown case of high school senioritis: the National Speech & Debate Tournament. Taking home the gold would not only be the pinnacle of Finch’s debating career, but the perfect way to launch himself into his next chapter: college in Washington, DC, and a history-making career as the first trans congressman. What could possibly go wrong? Well, for starters, Finch could develop a teeny tiny crush on his very attractive, very taken, and very gay debate partner, Jonah. Never mind that Finch has never considered whether he’s interested in more than just girls. And that dream of college in DC? Finch hasn’t exactly been accepted anywhere yet, let alone received the full-ride scholarship he’ll need to make this dream a reality. Worst of all, though, is this year’s topic for Nationals: transgender rights. If he wants to cinch the gold, and get into college, Finch might have to argue against his own humanity. People say there are two sides to every argument. But, as Finch is about to discover, some things—like who you are and who you love—are not up for debate.

Amy Snow Book
Score: 3
From 7 Ratings

Amy Snow


  • Author : Tracy Rees
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2016-06-07
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 576
  • ISBN 10 : 9781501128370
  • Total Read : 78
  • File Size : 13,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Amy Snow Summary:

Amy Snow follows a series coded letters in a treasure hunt across England.

Unbound  A Novel in Verse Book
Score: 4
From 12 Ratings

Unbound A Novel in Verse


  • Author : Ann E. Burg
  • Publisher : Scholastic Inc.
  • Release Date : 2016-09-27
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN 10 : 9780545937870
  • Total Read : 98
  • File Size : 16,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Unbound A Novel in Verse Summary:

From the award-winning author of All the Broken Pieces and Serafina's Promise comes a breathtaking new novel that is her most transcendent and widely accessible work to date.

Prayers for Bobby Book
Score: 3.5
From 5 Ratings

Prayers for Bobby


  • Author : Leroy Aarons
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2009-08-25
  • Genre: Psychology
  • Pages : 288
  • ISBN 10 : 9780061951954
  • Total Read : 60
  • File Size : 5,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Prayers for Bobby Summary:

Bobby Griffith was an all-American boy ...and he was gay. Faced with an irresolvable conflict-for both his family and his religion taught him that being gay was "wrong"-Bobby chose to take his own life. Prayers for Bobby, nominated for a 1996 Lambda Literary Award, is the story of the emotional journey that led Bobby to this tragic conclusion. But it is also the story of Bobby's mother, a fearful churchgoer who first prayed that her son would be "healed," then anguished over his suicide, and ultimately transformed herself into a national crusader for gay and lesbian youth. As told through Bobby's poignant journal entries and his mother's reminiscences, Prayers for Bobby is at once a moving personal story, a true profile in courage, and a call to arms to parents everywhere.