The Housemaid s Daughter Book
Score: 3.5
From 9 Ratings

The Housemaid s Daughter


  • Author : Barbara Mutch
  • Publisher : Headline
  • Release Date : 2012-08-02
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 340
  • ISBN 10 : 9780755392117
  • Total Read : 85
  • File Size : 20,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Housemaid s Daughter Summary:

A South African THE HELP, Barbara Mutch's THE HOUSEMAID'S DAUGHTER is a startling and thought-provoking debut novel which intricately portrays the drama, dynamics and heartbreak of two women against the backdrop of a beautiful yet divided land. For readers of Gillian Slovo or Doris Lessing. Cathleen Harrington leaves her home in Ireland in 1919 to travel to South Africa and marry the fiance she has not seen for five years. Isolated and estranged in a harsh landscape, she finds solace in her diary and the friendship of her housemaid's daughter, Ada. Cathleen recognises in her someone she can love and respond to in a way that she cannot with her own husband and daughter. Under Cathleen's tutelage, Ada grows into an accomplished pianist, and a reader who cannot resist turning the pages of the diary, discovering the secrets Cathleen sought to hide.

The Housemaid s Scandalous Secret Book

The Housemaid s Scandalous Secret


  • Author : Helen Dickson
  • Publisher : Harlequin
  • Release Date : 2012-09-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 205
  • ISBN 10 : 9781426876721
  • Total Read : 74
  • File Size : 14,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Housemaid s Scandalous Secret Summary:

'Your discretion and good behaviour would be most appreciated…' Returning to Castonbury Park is just another job for Colonel Ross Montague. With his family in disarray, he promises to do his utmost to see order and decorum restored once more. That is until he's sidetracked by the beguiling eyes of Castonbury's newest maid—Lisette. An affair would be most improper…but when neither can deny their blazing desire, all society's rules are discarded. So, in a house where gossip is rife, Lisette must try her best to keep her salacious liaison a secret…!

The Maid Book
Score: 3.5
From 57 Ratings

The Maid


  • Author : Nita Prose
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release Date : 2022-01-04
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 302
  • ISBN 10 : 9780735241343
  • Total Read : 73
  • File Size : 15,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Maid Summary:

INSTANT #1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER • #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK • CITYLINE BOOK CLUB PICK • “A twist-and-turn whodunit, set in a five-star hotel, from the perspective of the maid who finds the body. Think Clue. Think page-turner.”—Glamour NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS’ CHOICE • ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2022—Glamour, W magazine, PopSugar, The Rumpus, Book Riot, CrimeReads, She Reads, Daily Hive, The Globe and Mail, Chatelaine, Stylist, Canadian Living “An endearing debut. . . . The reader comes to understand Molly’s worldview, and to sympathize with her longing to be accepted—a quest that gives The Maid real emotional heft.” —The New York Times “The Maid is a masterful, charming mystery that will touch your heart in ways you could never expect. . . . This is the smart, quirky, uplifting read we need.” —Ashley Audrain, #1 bestselling author of The Push A dead body is one mess she can’t clean up on her own. Molly Gray is not like everyone else. She struggles with social skills and misreads the intentions of others. Her gran used to interpret the world for her, codifying it into simple rules that Molly could live by. Since Gran died a few months ago, twenty-five-year-old Molly has been navigating life’s complexities all by herself. No matter—she throws herself with gusto into her work as a hotel maid. Her unique character, along with her obsessive love of cleaning and proper etiquette, make her an ideal fit for the job. She delights in donning her crisp uniform each morning, stocking her cart with miniature soaps and bottles, and returning guest rooms at the Regency Grand Hotel to a state of perfection. But Molly’s orderly life is upended the day she enters the suite of the infamous and wealthy Charles Black, only to find it in a state of disarray and Mr. Black himself dead in his bed. Before she knows what’s happening, Molly’s unusual demeanour has the police targeting her as their

The Housemaid Book
Score: 4
From 1 Ratings

The Housemaid


  • Author : Anna Darko
  • Publisher : Heinemann
  • Release Date : 1998
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 116
  • ISBN 10 : 0435910086
  • Total Read : 99
  • File Size : 19,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Housemaid Summary:

Amma Darko's new novel is a dramatic story of exploitation in modern Ghana.

The Maid of Fairbourne Hall Book
Score: 4.5
From 62 Ratings

The Maid of Fairbourne Hall


  • Author : Julie Klassen
  • Publisher : Bethany House
  • Release Date : 2012-01-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 416
  • ISBN 10 : 9781441269928
  • Total Read : 95
  • File Size : 13,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Maid of Fairbourne Hall Summary:

Regency Romance and Mystery from Bestselling Author Julie Klassen Pampered Margaret Macy flees London in disguise to escape pressure to marry a dishonorable man. With no money and nowhere else to go, she takes a position as a housemaid in the home of Nathaniel Upchurch, a suitor she once rejected in hopes of winning his dashing brother. Praying no one will recognize her, Margaret fumbles through the first real work of her life. If she can last until her next birthday, she will gain an inheritance from a spinster aunt--and sweet independence. But can she remain hidden as a servant even when prying eyes visit Fairbourne Hall? Observing both brothers as an "invisible" servant, Margaret learns she may have misjudged Nathaniel. Is it too late to rekindle his admiration? And when one of the family is nearly killed, Margaret alone discovers who was responsible. Should she come forward, even at the risk of her reputation and perhaps her life? And can she avoid an obvious trap meant to force her from hiding? On her journey from wellborn lady to servant to uncertain future, Margaret must learn to look past appearances and find the true meaning of "serve one another in love."

The Cambridge Review Book

The Cambridge Review


  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 1890
  • Genre: Uncategoriezed
  • Pages : null
  • ISBN 10 : PRNC:32101077277414
  • Total Read : 84
  • File Size : 9,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Cambridge Review Summary:

Vols. 1-26 include a supplement: The University pulpit, vols. [1]-26, no. 1-661, which has separate pagination but is indexed in the main vol.

The Book of Household Management Book

The Book of Household Management


  • Author : Mrs. Beeton (Isabella Mary)
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 1888
  • Genre: Chores
  • Pages : 1802
  • ISBN 10 : HARVARD:RSLBE2
  • Total Read : 88
  • File Size : 17,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Book of Household Management Summary: