The Handmaid s Tale Book
Score: 4
From 539 Ratings

The Handmaid s Tale


  • Author : Margaret Atwood
  • Publisher : Emblem Editions
  • Release Date : 2010-12-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 368
  • ISBN 10 : 9781551994963
  • Total Read : 63
  • File Size : 8,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Handmaid s Tale Summary:

An instant classic and eerily prescient cultural phenomenon, from “the patron saint of feminist dystopian fiction” (New York Times). Now an award-winning Hulu series starring Elizabeth Moss. In this multi-award-winning, bestselling novel, Margaret Atwood has created a stunning Orwellian vision of the near future. This is the story of Offred, one of the unfortunate “Handmaids” under the new social order who have only one purpose: to breed. In Gilead, where women are prohibited from holding jobs, reading, and forming friendships, Offred’ s persistent memories of life in the “time before” and her will to survive are acts of rebellion. Provocative, startling, prophetic, and with Margaret Atwood’s devastating irony, wit, and acute perceptive powers in full force, The Handmaid’s Tale is at once a mordant satire and a dire warning.

The Handmaid s Tale Book
Score: 4
From 44 Ratings

The Handmaid s Tale


  • Author : Margaret Atwood
  • Publisher : Everyman's Library
  • Release Date : 2006
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 350
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307264602
  • Total Read : 98
  • File Size : 19,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Handmaid s Tale Summary:

A chilling look at the near future presents the story of Offred, a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead, once the United States, an oppressive world where women are no longer allowed to read and are valued only as long as they are viable for reproduction. 25,000 first printing.

Summary and Analysis of The Handmaid s Tale Book

Summary and Analysis of The Handmaid s Tale


  • Author : Worth Books
  • Publisher : Open Road Media
  • Release Date : 2017-02-07
  • Genre: Literary Criticism
  • Pages : 30
  • ISBN 10 : 9781504044165
  • Total Read : 83
  • File Size : 12,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Summary and Analysis of The Handmaid s Tale Summary:

So much to read, so little time? This brief overview of The Handmaid’s Tale tells you what you need to know—before or after you read Margaret Atwood’s book. Crafted and edited with care, Worth Books set the standard for quality and give you the tools you need to be a well-informed reader. This short summary and analysis of The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood includes: Historical context Part-by-part summaries Analysis of the main characters Themes and symbols Important quotes Fascinating trivia Glossary of terms Supporting material to enhance your understanding of the original work About Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale: Margaret Atwood’s dystopian literary masterpiece tells the story of Offred, a Handmaid living in the near future in what was once the United States. A new theocratic regime called the Republic of Gilead has come to power and changed life as she knew it. Once Offred had a her own name and a loving family—a husband and daughter—both of which were taken from her; now she belongs to the Commander and his hostile wife, and her only value lies in her ability to bear a child for them. She used to read books and learn; now such things are forbidden to all women. Gripping, disturbing, and so relevant today, The Handmaid’s Tale is a brilliant novel and a chilling warning about what can happen when extreme ideas are taken to their logical conclusions. The summary and analysis in this ebook are intended to complement your reading experience and bring you closer to a great work of fiction.

The Testaments Book
Score: 4
From 87 Ratings

The Testaments


  • Author : Margaret Atwood
  • Publisher : McClelland & Stewart
  • Release Date : 2019-09-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 320
  • ISBN 10 : 9780771009426
  • Total Read : 87
  • File Size : 5,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Testaments Summary:

WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE LONGLISTED FOR THE SCOTIABANK GILLER PRIZE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER Margaret Atwood's dystopian masterpiece, The Handmaid's Tale, has become a modern classic—and now she brings the iconic story to a dramatic conclusion in this riveting sequel. More than fifteen years after the events of The Handmaid's Tale, the theocratic regime of the Republic of Gilead maintains its grip on power, but there are signs it is beginning to rot from within. At this crucial moment, the lives of three radically different women converge, with potentially explosive results. Two have grown up as part of the first generation to come of age in the new order. The testimonies of these two young women are joined by a third voice: a woman who wields power through the ruthless accumulation and deployment of secrets. As Atwood unfolds The Testaments, she opens up the innermost workings of Gilead as each woman is forced to come to terms with who she is, and how far she will go for what she believes. "The literary event of the year." —The Guardian "The international literary event of the season." —Globe and Mail "It’s terrifying and exhilarating." —Judges of the Booker Prize 2019

Angel Catbird Book
Score: 2.5
From 12 Ratings

Angel Catbird


  • Author : Margaret Atwood
  • Publisher : Dark Horse Comics
  • Release Date : 2016
  • Genre: COMICS & GRAPHIC NOVELS
  • Pages : 82
  • ISBN 10 : 9781506700632
  • Total Read : 87
  • File Size : 14,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Angel Catbird Summary:

Lauded novelist Margaret Atwood and acclaimed artist Johnnie Christmas collaborate on one of the most highly anticipated comic book and literary events of the year.On a dark night, young genetic engineer Strig Feleedus is accidentally mutated by his own experiment and merges with the DNA of a cat and an owl. What follows is a humorous, action-driven, pulp-inspired superhero adventure - with a lot of cat puns.

Oryx and Crake Book
Score: 3.5
From 303 Ratings

Oryx and Crake


  • Author : Margaret Atwood
  • Publisher : Vintage Canada
  • Release Date : 2010-07-27
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 416
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307400840
  • Total Read : 64
  • File Size : 8,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Oryx and Crake Summary:

A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize. Margaret Atwood’s new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake, nothing will ever look the same again. The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief. With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter.

Religion in The Handmaid s Tale Book

Religion in The Handmaid s Tale


  • Author : Colette Tennant
  • Publisher : Fortress Press
  • Release Date : 2019-09-03
  • Genre: Performing Arts
  • Pages : 130
  • ISBN 10 : 9781506456317
  • Total Read : 72
  • File Size : 8,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Religion in The Handmaid s Tale Summary:

Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale captivates readers with its disturbingly prescient vision of the future and haunting insights into the world as we know it. Religion--especially elements of the Christian faith--pervades every inch of the world as Atwood imagines it. Gilead's leaders use perverse forms of Christianity to sustain their authority and privilege, making understanding religion an integral part of understanding Gilead. In the face of the inextricable role of religion in the novel, readers are left to puzzle out religious references and allusions on their own. From the significance of names to twisted uses of religion to the origins of the Ceremony, this book answers all the questions you might have about religion in this prophetic novel. For anyone who's ever googled a biblical precedent or religious phrase after encountering Atwood's dystopia, this essential guide explains it all and gives readers a fascinating look into the novel and its world. Read it and understand The Handmaid's Tale like never before.

Art and Making of the Handmaid s Tale Book

Art and Making of the Handmaid s Tale


  • Author : Andrea Robinson
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 2019-03
  • Genre: Handmaid's tale (Television program)
  • Pages : 192
  • ISBN 10 : 1789090547
  • Total Read : 67
  • File Size : 9,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Art and Making of the Handmaid s Tale Summary:

Explore the terrifying world of Gilead with this behind-the-scenes look at the Emmy award-winning show The Handmaid's Tale. The hotly anticipated debut of The Handmaid's Tale -- Hulu's groundbreaking show based on Margaret Atwood's best-selling novel -- drew a wide audience and rave reviews. Now, this comprehensive book details the process of bringing the story to the small screen with exclusive cast and crew interviews, backstage and set photography, concept art, costume design, and more. Dive deep into the world of the show's dystopian future as interviews with the show's cast and creators provide insight into the inspiration behind the characters, settings, and themes, as well as it's parallels to the real-world political climate. Showcasing striking visuals and insightful commentary, The Art and Making of The Handmaid's Tale is the definitive exploration of one of television's most critically acclaimed shows.