The Bone Sparrow Book
Score: 4.5
From 4 Ratings

The Bone Sparrow


  • Author : Zana Fraillon
  • Publisher : Orion Children's Books
  • Release Date : 2016-07-14
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 240
  • ISBN 10 : 9781510101593
  • Total Read : 94
  • File Size : 7,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Bone Sparrow Summary:

Winner of the CILIP Amnesty Honour 2017. Shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize and the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017. Perfect for fans of THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS. This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope, and the power of a story to speak for anyone who's ever struggled to find a safe home. '...a special book' - Morris Gleitzman, author of the acclaimed ONCE series Born in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he's at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice Jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie. Carrying a notebook that she's unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck - both talismans of her family's past and the mother she's lost - Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence. As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie's family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures.

The Bone Sparrow Book
Score: 3
From 9 Ratings

The Bone Sparrow


  • Author : Zana Fraillon
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2016-06-28
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 240
  • ISBN 10 : 9780734417145
  • Total Read : 81
  • File Size : 17,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Bone Sparrow Summary:

2017 ABIA Book of the Year for Older Children Winner, Readings Young Adult Book Prize 2017 CBCA Honour Book 2017 - Older Readers Shortlisted for the 2017 Prime Minister's Literary Awards Shortlisted for the 2017 Queensland Literary Awards Shortlisted for the 2017 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards Shortlisted for The Guardian Children's Fiction Prize 2016 Shortlisted for the Gold Inky Award 2017 Shortlisted for the 2017 CILIP Carnegie Medal Carnegie Medal Amnesty CILIP Honour Book 2017 IBBY Australia Honour Book 2018 'A special book.' - Morris Gleitzman Sometimes, at night, the dirt outside turns into a beautiful ocean. As red as the sun and as deep as the sky. I lie in my bed, Queeny's feet pushing up against my cheek, and listen to the waves lapping at the tent. Subhi is a refugee. Born in an Australian permanent detention centre after his mother fled the violence of a distant homeland, life behind the fences is all he has ever known. But as he grows, his imagination gets bigger too, until it is bursting at the limits of his world. The Night Sea brings him gifts, the faraway whales sing to him, and the birds tell their stories. The most vivid story of all, however, is the one that arrives one night in the form of Jimmie, a scruffy, impatient girl who appears from the other side of the wires, and brings a notebook written by the mother she lost. Unable to read it, she relies on Subhi to unravel her own family's love songs and tragedies. Subhi and Jimmie might both find a way to freedom, as their tales unfold. But not until each of them has been braver than ever before. 'a tragic, beautifully crafted and wonderful book' - The Independent

The Bone Sparrow Book
Score: 4
From 3 Ratings

The Bone Sparrow


  • Author : Zana Fraillon
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2016-11-04
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 299
  • ISBN 10 : 9781484781937
  • Total Read : 82
  • File Size : 8,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Bone Sparrow Summary:

"Indispensable." -- Booklist (starred review) Subhi is a refugee. He was born in an Australian permanent detention center after his mother and sister fled the violence of a distant homeland, and the center is the only world he knows. But every night, the faraway whales sing to him, the birds tell him their stories, and the magical Night Sea from his mother's stories brings him gifts. As Subhi grows, his imagination threatens to burst beyond the limits of the fences that contain him. Until one night, it seems to do just that. Subhi sees a scruffy girl on the other side of the wire mesh, a girl named Jimmie, who appears with a notebook written by the mother she lost. Unable to read it herself, Jimmie asks Subhi to unravel her family's love songs and tragedies that are penned there. Subhi and Jimmie might both find comfort -- and maybe even freedom-as their tales unfold. But not until each has been braver than ever before and made choices that could change everything.

The Lost Soul Atlas Book
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

The Lost Soul Atlas


  • Author : Zana Fraillon
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2020-07-23
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 320
  • ISBN 10 : 9781510106833
  • Total Read : 74
  • File Size : 13,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Lost Soul Atlas Summary:

A boy awakens in the Afterlife, with a pocketful of vague memories, a key, a raven, and a mysterious atlas to guide him as he sets out to piece together what happened, and try to find his way home ... Twig is alone as a newly-made street kid after his dad goes missing. But when he meets Flea, a cheerful pickpocket, the pair become fast friends. Together, Twig and Flea raise themselves on the crime-ridden streets, taking what they need and giving the rest to the even-poorer. Life is good, as long as they have each other. But then Twig wakes up in the Afterlife with just a handful of memories from Earth and one big question ... how did he get there? Loyalty will be tested, and a cruel twist of fate will lead to an act of ultimate betrayal in this epic story that spans a city, a decade, and the divide of life and death itself. From the award-winning author of The Bone Sparrow.

The Ones That Disappeared Book

The Ones That Disappeared


  • Author : Zana Fraillon
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2017-07-13
  • Genre: Juvenile Fiction
  • Pages : 272
  • ISBN 10 : 9781510101609
  • Total Read : 91
  • File Size : 16,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Ones That Disappeared Summary:

Beautiful, magical and moving, this is a SKELLIG for a new generation, from the author of THE BONE SPARROW, shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2017 and the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize 2016. Some stories need to be told... A moving, beautifully-written and poignant novel about child trafficking and the search for freedom. Kept by a ruthless gang, three children manage to escape from slavery. But freedom isn't just waiting on the outside. Separated, scared and looking after a small child, Esra will do whatever she can to reunite with her friend Miran, who was captured by the police - the police who she mustn't trust. Hiding in the shadows of the forest, Esra is found by a local boy, a boy with his own story. Together they will create a man out of mud. A man who will come to life and lead them through a dark labyrinth of tunnels until they finally have the courage the step above ground. Until they finally have the courage to speak their story. Until they finally have the courage to be free.

Wisp Book

Wisp


  • Author : Zana Fraillon
  • Publisher : Orchard Books
  • Release Date : 2019-02-07
  • Genre: Uncategoriezed
  • Pages : 32
  • ISBN 10 : 1408350114
  • Total Read : 74
  • File Size : 8,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Wisp Summary:

Idris is a child refugee, born into a world of tents and fences. He has known no other life than this. He has no memories of the world outside. Then the Wisp arrives, floating in on the evening breeze. Everyone who holds it finds their memories reawakened, their hopes of freedom reborn. But what about Idris, who has no memories? What will happen when he holds the magical Wisp?Storytelling and imagination have the power to offer hope in this extraordinary picture book from the Amnesty CILIP Honour-winning author of The Bone Sparrow, Zana Fraillon, and Kate Greenaway Medal-winning illustrator Grahame Baker Smith.

Buffalo Bird Girl Book
Score: 3.5
From 5 Ratings

Buffalo Bird Girl


  • Author : S. D. Nelson
  • Publisher : Abrams
  • Release Date : 2013-01-11
  • Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
  • Pages : 56
  • ISBN 10 : 9781613124871
  • Total Read : 89
  • File Size : 11,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Buffalo Bird Girl Summary:

This fascinating picture book biography tells the childhood story of Buffalo Bird Woman—a Hidatsa Indian born around 1839. Through her true story, readers learn what it was like to be part of this Native American community, which lived along the Missouri River in the Dakotas, a society that depended on agriculture for food and survival rather than hunting. Using original artwork and archival photographs, award-winning author/illustrator S. D. Nelson has captured the spirit of Buffalo Bird Girl and her lost way of life. The book includes a bibliography and an index, as well as an author’s note and timeline of events. Awards and praise for Buffalo Bird Girl Gelett Burgess Award CCBC Choices Book, Biography ? Kirkus starred review ? SLJ starred review

The Sparrow Book
Score: 4
From 268 Ratings

The Sparrow


  • Author : Mary Doria Russell
  • Publisher : Ballantine Books
  • Release Date : 2008-05-27
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 448
  • ISBN 10 : 9780345510884
  • Total Read : 64
  • File Size : 13,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Sparrow Summary:

A visionary work that combines speculative fiction with deep philosophical inquiry, The Sparrow tells the story of a charismatic Jesuit priest and linguist, Emilio Sandoz, who leads a scientific mission entrusted with a profound task: to make first contact with intelligent extraterrestrial life. The mission begins in faith, hope, and beauty, but a series of small misunderstandings brings it to a catastrophic end. Praise for The Sparrow “A startling, engrossing, and moral work of fiction.”—The New York Times Book Review “Important novels leave deep cracks in our beliefs, our prejudices, and our blinders. The Sparrow is one of them.”—Entertainment Weekly “Powerful . . . The Sparrow tackles a difficult subject with grace and intelligence.”—San Francisco Chronicle “Provocative, challenging . . . recalls both Arthur C. Clarke and H. G. Wells, with a dash of Ray Bradbury for good measure.”—The Dallas Morning News “[Mary Doria] Russell shows herself to be a skillful storyteller who subtly and expertly builds suspense.”—USA Today