The Appeal Book
Score: 4
From 13 Ratings

The Appeal


  • Author : Janice Hallett
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2022-01-25
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 432
  • ISBN 10 : 9781982187477
  • Total Read : 75
  • File Size : 6,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Appeal Summary:

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER “[W]itty, original…a delight.” —Th​e New York Times Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell, this international bestseller and “dazzlingly clever” (The Sunday Times, London) murder mystery follows a community rallying around a sick child—but when escalating lies lead to a dead body, everyone is a suspect. The Fairway Players, a local theatre group, is in the midst of rehearsals when tragedy strikes the family of director Martin Hayward and his wife Helen, the play’s star. Their young granddaughter has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, and with an experimental treatment costing a tremendous sum, their castmates rally to raise the money to give her a chance at survival. But not everybody is convinced of the experimental treatment’s efficacy—nor of the good intentions of those involved. As tension grows within the community, things come to a shocking head at the explosive dress rehearsal. The next day, a dead body is found, and soon, an arrest is made. In the run-up to the trial, two young lawyers sift through the material—emails, messages, letters—with a growing suspicion that the killer may be hiding in plain sight. The evidence is all there, between the lines, waiting to be uncovered. A wholly modern and gripping take on the epistolary novel, The Appeal is a “daring…clever, and funny” (The Times, London) debut for fans of Richard Osman and Lucy Foley.

The Appeal Book
Score: 3
From 94 Ratings

The Appeal


  • Author : John Grisham
  • Publisher : Doubleday Books
  • Release Date : 2008
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 358
  • ISBN 10 : 9780385515047
  • Total Read : 87
  • File Size : 20,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Appeal Summary:

The author of such best-selling legal thrillers as A Time to Kill, The Last Juror, and The Brethren presents his latest novel of courtroom and legal suspense as he offers a provocative look at the price of American justice. 2,800,000 first printing.

Death and Croissants Book
Score: 4
From 3 Ratings

Death and Croissants


  • Author : Ian Moore
  • Publisher : Prelude Books
  • Release Date : 2021-07-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : null
  • ISBN 10 : 9781788423571
  • Total Read : 76
  • File Size : 17,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Death and Croissants Summary:

‘A very funny page-turner. Fantastique!’ Adam Kay, Comedian and author of This is Going to Hurt 'A writer of immense wit and charm.' Paul Sinha, ITV's The Chase THE FIRST NOVEL IN THE ENTHRALLING FOLLET VALLEY SERIES, BY TV/RADIO REGULAR IAN MOORE Richard is a middle-aged Englishman who runs a B&B in the fictional Val de Follet in the Loire Valley. Nothing ever happens to Richard, and really that’s the way he likes it. One day, however, one of his older guests disappears, leaving behind a bloody handprint on the wallpaper. Another guest, the enigmatic Valérie, persuades a reluctant Richard to join her in investigating the disappearance. Richard remains a dazed passenger in the case until things become really serious and someone murders Ava Gardner, one of his beloved hens ... and you don’t mess with a fellow’s hens! Unputdownable mystery set in rural France, by TV/radio regular and bestselling author Ian Moore – perfect for fans of Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club, Julia Chapman, or M.C. Beaton. Praise for Death and Croissants: 'Death and Croissants is a far funnier book than a story about a bloody murder has any right to be.' Josh Widdicombe, BBC's Mock the Week 'This is like two great books in one, a tricksy whodunnit, and a really, really funny story.' Jason Manford 'Ian is one of my favourite writers; this is hilarious and a great mystery too.' Janey Godley 'Good food and a laugh-out-loud mystery. What more could anyone want in these dark times?” Mark Billingham ‘Death and Croissants is such a relentless rollercoaster ride of laughs and twists, it should come with a height restriction and health warning.’ Matt Forde ‘Sharp, slick and surprising – like the author himself – Death and Croissants is the Loire Valley’s answer to Murder on the Orient Express. I’d marry him tomorrow (Richard, the protagonist; Ian too).' Cally Beaton ‘Though I disagree with the opinions on muesli and the hen naming system that are in this book, I w

Civil Appeals Book

Civil Appeals


  • Author : Michael Burton
  • Publisher : Xpl Pub
  • Release Date : 2011-12-01
  • Genre: Law
  • Pages : 600
  • ISBN 10 : 1858113792
  • Total Read : 85
  • File Size : 9,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Civil Appeals Summary:

Any practitioner faced with the decision as to whether to appeal, or who has questions arising at each stage, will benefit enormously from a book that examines the law, principles, procedures, and processes involved. This leading work has been updated and restructured, to ensure it provides guidance on the complete and complex process of making a civil appeal. Clearly written and cross referenced, the books UK/European coverage of appeals includes: -- District Judges to Circuit Judges in the County Court -- Masters and District Judges to High Court Judges -- Court of Appeal -- House of Lords -- Privy Council -- The European Court -- The European Court of Human Rights -- Administrative Law and Elections

Final Appeal Book
Score: 3.5
From 7 Ratings

Final Appeal


  • Author : Lisa Scottoline
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2009-03-17
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN 10 : 9780061743597
  • Total Read : 78
  • File Size : 7,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Final Appeal Summary:

“Scottoline is a master.”—Philadelphia Inquirer Murder, intrigue, and romance collide in New York Times bestselling author Lisa Scottoline’s clever and fast-paced legal thriller. Starting over again after her divorce, Philadelphia lawyer Grace Rossi works part time for handsome Judge Armen Gregorian in the federal appeals court. Assigned to an explosive death penalty appeal, a long day of work unexpectedly leads to a night of passion with the chief judge. But when Gregorian is found dead the next morning, an apparent suicide, Grace knows she must uncover the truth. Suddenly this working mother finds herself investigating a murder, unearthing a secret bank account, and following a trail of bribery and judicial corruption hidden even from the FBI. In no time at all, Grace under fire takes on a whole new meaning. With the help of an undercover federal agent, she will risk everything to see justice done.

Popular Appeal Book

Popular Appeal


  • Author : Lesley Hawkes
  • Publisher : Cambridge Scholars Publishing
  • Release Date : 2013-11-18
  • Genre: Literary Criticism
  • Pages : 220
  • ISBN 10 : 9781443854313
  • Total Read : 60
  • File Size : 17,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Popular Appeal Summary:

Now is an opportune moment to consider the shifts in youth and popular culture that are signalled by texts that are being read and viewed by young people. In a world seemingly compromised by climate change, political and religious upheavals and economic irresponsibility, and at a time of fundamental social change, young people are devouring fictional texts that focus on the edges of identity, the points of transition and rupture, and the assumption of new and hybrid identities. This book draws on a range of international texts to address these issues, and to examine the ways in which key popular genres in the contemporary market for young people are being re-defined and re-positioned in the light of urgent questions about the environment, identity, one’s place in the world, and the fragile nature of the world itself. The key questions are: • What are the shifts and changes in youth culture that are identified by the market and by what young people read and view? • How do these texts negotiate the addressing of significant questions relating to the world today? • Why are these texts so popular with young people? • What are the most popular genres in contemporary best-sellers and films? • Do these texts have a global appeal, and, if so, why? These over-arching themes and ideas are presented as a collection of inter-related essays exploring a rich variety of forms and styles from graphic novels to urban realism, from fantasy to dystopian writing, from epic narratives to television musicals. The subjects and themes discussed here reveal the quite remarkable diversity of issues that arise in youth fiction and the variety of fictional forms in which they are explored. Once seen as not as important as adult fiction, this book clearly demonstrates that youth fiction (and the popular appeal of this fiction) is complex, durable and far-reaching in its scope.

An Appeal to Reason Book
Score: 3.5
From 3 Ratings

An Appeal to Reason


  • Author : Nigel Lawson
  • Publisher : Abrams
  • Release Date : 2009-12-29
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages : 136
  • ISBN 10 : 9781590205266
  • Total Read : 59
  • File Size : 10,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
An Appeal to Reason Summary:

In this well-informed and hard-hitting response to the scaremongering of the climate alarmists, Nigel Lawson, former Secretary of State for Energy under Margaret Thatcher, argues that it is time for us to take a cool look at global warming. Lawson carefully and succinctly examines all aspects of the global warming issue: the science, the economics, the politics, and the ethics. He concludes that the conventional wisdom on the subject is suspect on a number of grounds, that global warming is not the devastating threat to the planet it is widely alleged to be, and that the remedy that is currently being proposed, which is in any event politically unattainable, would be worse that the threat it is supposed to avert. Argued with logic, common sense, and even wit, and thoroughly sourced and referenced, Lawson has written a long overdue corrective to the barrage of spin and hype to which the politicians and media have been subjecting the public on this important issue.

Media Entertainment Book

Media Entertainment


  • Author : Dolf Zillmann
  • Publisher : Routledge
  • Release Date : 2000-05-01
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages : 296
  • ISBN 10 : 9781135667535
  • Total Read : 69
  • File Size : 7,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Media Entertainment Summary:

This collection represents a systematic exploration of media entertainment from an academic perspective. Editors Zillmann and Vorderer have assembled scholars from psychology, sociology, and communication to provide a broad examination of the primary function of media entertainment--the attainment of gratification. Chapters included here address vital aspects of media entertainment and summarize pertinent findings, providing an overview of what is presently known about the appeal and function of the essential forms of media entertainment, and offering some degree of integration. Written in a clear, non-technical style, this volume provides a lively and entertaining study of media entertainment for academic study and coursework.