Station Eleven Book
Score: 4
From 341 Ratings

Station Eleven


  • Author : Emily St. John Mandel
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2014-09-09
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN 10 : 9781443434881
  • Total Read : 96
  • File Size : 13,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Station Eleven Summary:

National Book Award finalist, New York Times bestseller, Globe and Mail bestseller, and a Best Book of the Year in The Globe and Mail, The Washington Post, Entertainment Weekly, Kirkus Reviews, and Time magazine Day One The Georgia Flu explodes over the surface of the earth like a neutron bomb. News reports put the mortality rate at over 99%. Week Two Civilization has crumbled. Year Twenty A band of actors and musicians, called the Travelling Symphony, move through the territories of a changed world, performing concerts and Shakespeare at the settlements that have formed. Twenty years after the pandemic, life feels relatively safe. But now a new danger looms, and it threatens the world every hopeful survivor has tried to rebuild. Moving backward and forward in time, from the glittering years just before the collapse to the strange and altered world that exists twenty years after, Station Eleven charts the unexpected twists of fate that connect six people: celebrated actor Arthur Leander; Jeevan, a bystander warned about the flu just in time; Arthur's first wife, Miranda; Arthur's oldest friend, Clark; Kirsten, an actress with the Travelling Symphony; and the mysterious and self-proclaimed "prophet." Sometimes terrifying, sometimes tender, Station Eleven tells a story about the fragility of life, the relationships that sustain us, and the beauty of the world as we know it.

Station Eleven Book
Score: 4
From 339 Ratings

Station Eleven


  • Author : Emily St. John Mandel
  • Publisher : Pan Macmillan
  • Release Date : 2014-09-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 384
  • ISBN 10 : 9781447269007
  • Total Read : 79
  • File Size : 16,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Station Eleven Summary:

CELEBRATING FIFTY YEARS OF PICADOR BOOKS Now an HBO Max original TV series The New York Times Bestseller Winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award Longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction National Book Awards Finalist PEN/Faulkner Award Finalist What was lost in the collapse: almost everything, almost everyone, but there is still such beauty. One snowy night in Toronto famous actor Arthur Leander dies on stage whilst performing the role of a lifetime. That same evening a deadly virus touches down in North America. The world will never be the same again. Twenty years later Kirsten, an actress in the Travelling Symphony, performs Shakespeare in the settlements that have grown up since the collapse. But then her newly hopeful world is threatened. If civilization was lost, what would you preserve? And how far would you go to protect it? Part of the Picador Collection, a new series showcasing the best of modern literature.

Station Eleven Book
Score: 4
From 341 Ratings

Station Eleven


  • Author : Emily St. John Mandel
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release Date : 2014-09-09
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN 10 : 9780385353311
  • Total Read : 97
  • File Size : 9,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Station Eleven Summary:

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • An audacious, darkly glittering novel set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse—the spellbinding story of a Hollywood star, his would-be savior, and a nomadic group of actors roaming the scattered outposts of the Great Lakes region, risking everything for art and humanity. Now an original series on HBO Max. Over one million copies sold! Kirsten Raymonde will never forget the night Arthur Leander, the famous Hollywood actor, had a heart attack on stage during a production of King Lear. That was the night when a devastating flu pandemic arrived in the city, and within weeks, civilization as we know it came to an end. Twenty years later, Kirsten moves between the settlements of the altered world with a small troupe of actors and musicians. They call themselves The Traveling Symphony, and they have dedicated themselves to keeping the remnants of art and humanity alive. But when they arrive in St. Deborah by the Water, they encounter a violent prophet who will threaten the tiny band’s existence. And as the story takes off, moving back and forth in time, and vividly depicting life before and after the pandemic, the strange twist of fate that connects them all will be revealed. Look for Emily St. John Mandel’s new novel, Sea of Tranquility, coming soon!

Last Night in Montreal Book
Score: 4
From 50 Ratings

Last Night in Montreal


  • Author : Emily St. John Mandel
  • Publisher : Unbridled Books
  • Release Date : 2009
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 255
  • ISBN 10 : 9781932961683
  • Total Read : 82
  • File Size : 11,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Last Night in Montreal Summary:

Eli searches for his ex-lover Lilia after she disappears one morning from his Brooklyn apartment, but he discovers surprises about her childhood after going to Montreal on a tip from a source who says that Lilia may be there.

The Singer s Gun Book
Score: 4
From 24 Ratings

The Singer s Gun


  • Author : Emily St. John Mandel
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release Date : 2010-05-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 304
  • ISBN 10 : 9781936071883
  • Total Read : 62
  • File Size : 19,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Singer s Gun Summary:

From the award-winning, bestselling author of Station Eleven and The Glass Hotel, “a gripping story, full of moral ambiguities, where deception and betrayal become the norm, and where the expression ‘a riddle wrapped in a mystery, inside an enigma’ is lifted to new heights” (St. Louis Post-Dispatch). Everyone Anton Waker grew up with is corrupt. His parents dealt in stolen goods, and he was a successful purveyor of forged documents until he abandoned it all in his early twenties, determined to live a normal life, complete with career, apartment, and a fiancée who knows nothing of his criminal beginnings. He’s on the verge of finally getting married when Aria—his cousin and former partner in crime—blackmails him into helping her with one last job. Anton considers the task a small price for future freedom. But as he sets off for an Italian honeymoon, it soon becomes clear that the ghosts of his past can't be left behind so easily, and that the task Aria requires will cost him more than he could ever imagine. Look for Emily St. John Mandel’s new novel, Sea of Tranquility, coming soon!

THE LOLA QUARTET Book
Score: 3.5
From 29 Ratings

THE LOLA QUARTET


  • Author : Emily St. John Mandel
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release Date : 2012-05-01
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 288
  • ISBN 10 : 9781609530808
  • Total Read : 61
  • File Size : 20,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
THE LOLA QUARTET Summary:

From the award-winning, bestselling author of Station Eleven and The Glass Hotel—Gavin Sasaki was a promising young journalist in New York City until the day he was fired for plagiarism. The last thing he wants is to sell foreclosed real estate for his sister Eilo’s company in their Florida hometown, but he’s in no position to refuse her job offer. Plus, there’s another reason to go home: Eilo recently met a ten-year-old girl who looks very much like Gavin and has the same last name as his high-school girlfriend, Anna, who left town abruptly after graduation. Determined to find out if this little girl might be his daughter, Gavin sets off to track down Anna, starting with the three friends they shared back when he was part of a jazz group called “The Lola Quartet.” As Gavin pieces together their stories, he learns that Anna has been on the run for good reason, and soon his investigation into her sudden disappearance all those years ago takes a seriously dangerous turn. Look for Emily St. John Mandel’s new novel, Sea of Tranquility, coming soon!

The Glass Hotel Book
Score: 4
From 76 Ratings

The Glass Hotel


  • Author : Emily St. John Mandel
  • Publisher : HarperCollins
  • Release Date : 2020-03-24
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 320
  • ISBN 10 : 9781443455749
  • Total Read : 87
  • File Size : 6,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Glass Hotel Summary:

SHORTLISTED FOR THE SCOTIABANK GILLER PRIZE A Time Magazine Must Read Book of 2020 A Globe and Mail Top 100 Book of the Year #1 national bestseller New York Times bestseller From the award-winning author of Station Eleven, a captivating novel of money, beauty, white-collar crime, ghosts and moral compromise in which a woman disappears from a container ship off the coast of Mauritania and a massive Ponzi scheme implodes in New York, dragging countless fortunes with it. Vincent is a bartender at the Hotel Caiette, a five-star glass-and-cedar palace on the northernmost tip of Vancouver Island. New York financier Jonathan Alkaitis owns the hotel. When he passes Vincent his card with a tip, it’s the beginning of their life together. That same day, a hooded figure scrawls a note on the windowed wall of the hotel: “Why don’t you swallow broken glass.” Leon Prevant, a shipping executive for a company called Neptune-Avramidis, sees the note from the hotel bar and is shaken to his core. Thirteen years later, Vincent mysteriously disappears from the deck of a Neptune-Avramidis ship. Weaving together the lives of these characters, The Glass Hotel moves between the ship, the skyscrapers of Manhattan and the wilderness of remote British Columbia, painting a breathtaking picture of greed and guilt, fantasy and delusion, art and the ghosts of our pasts.

Goliath Book
Score: 4.5
From 4 Ratings

Goliath


  • Author : Tochi Onyebuchi
  • Publisher : Tordotcom
  • Release Date : 2022-01-25
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 336
  • ISBN 10 : 9781250782960
  • Total Read : 90
  • File Size : 13,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Goliath Summary:

A New York Times Editors' Choice Pick! A Most Anticipated Pick for USA Today | Bustle | Buzzfeed | Goodreads | Nerdist | io9 | WBUR | Polygon | The New Scientist "In this ambitious novel, dense with perspectives and social commentary, Onyebuchi dreams up disparate lives in a crumbling future America—with gentrifiers returning to Earth from space colonies and laborers trying to make a precarious living—while leaving room for moments of beauty and humor."—The New York Times, Editors' Choice In his adult novel debut, Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and NAACP Image Award finalist and ALA Alex and New England Book Award winner Tochi Onyebuchi delivers a sweeping science fiction epic in the vein of Samuel R. Delany and Station Eleven. In the 2050s, Earth has begun to empty. Those with the means and the privilege have departed the great cities of the United States for the more comfortable confines of space colonies. Those left behind salvage what they can from the collapsing infrastructure. As they eke out an existence, their neighborhoods are being cannibalized. Brick by brick, their houses are sent to the colonies, what was once a home now a quaint reminder for the colonists of the world that they wrecked. A primal biblical epic flung into the future, Goliath weaves together disparate narratives—a space-dweller looking at New Haven, Connecticut as a chance to reconnect with his spiraling lover; a group of laborers attempting to renew the promises of Earth’s crumbling cities; a journalist attempting to capture the violence of the streets; a marshal trying to solve a kidnapping—into a richly urgent mosaic about race, class, gentrification, and who is allowed to be the hero of any history. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.