In the Shadow of the Empress Book
Score: 3
From 2 Ratings

In the Shadow of the Empress


  • Author : Nancy Goldstone
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2021-09-16
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 602
  • ISBN 10 : 9781474609913
  • Total Read : 65
  • File Size : 18,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
In the Shadow of the Empress Summary:

Out of the thrilling and tempestuous eighteenth century comes the sweeping family saga of beautiful Maria Theresa, a sovereign of extraordinary strength and vision, the only woman ever to inherit and rule the vast Habsburg empire in her own name, and three of her remarkable daughters: lovely, talented Maria Christina, governor-general of the Austrian Netherlands; spirited Maria Carolina, the resolute queen of Naples; and the youngest, Marie Antoinette, the glamorous, tragic queen of France, perhaps the most famous princess in history. Unfolding against an irresistible backdrop of brilliant courts from Vienna to Versailles, embracing the exotic lure of Naples and Sicily, this epic history of Maria Theresa and her daughters is a tour de force of desire, adventure, ambition, treachery, sorrow, and glory. Each of these women's lives was packed with passion and heart-stopping suspense. Maria Theresa inherited her father's thrones at the age of twenty-three and was immediately attacked on all sides by foreign powers confident that a woman would to be too weak to defend herself. Maria Christina, a gifted artist, who alone among her sisters succeeded in marrying for love, would face the same dangers that destroyed the monarchy in France. Resourceful Maria Carolina would usher in the golden age of Naples only to then face the deadly whirlwind of Napoleon. And, finally, Marie Antoinette, the doomed queen whose stylish excesses and captivating notoriety have masked the truth about her husband and herself for two hundred and fifty years.

Shadow Empress Book

Shadow Empress


  • Author : C N Crawford
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 2021-02-24
  • Genre: Uncategoriezed
  • Pages : 258
  • ISBN 10 : 9798711905882
  • Total Read : 92
  • File Size : 10,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Shadow Empress Summary:

Ali -I'm now the Empress of Vanaheim and leader of all Elves. It's a lonely job, but the important thing is that the Night Elves are finally safe. At least until I learn of the invading draugr horde. I need Galin's help, and I'm desperate to see him again, but the sorcerer has plans of his own. And when he tries to rewrite our fate, I may lose everything-including him. Galin -After I fell into the Well of Wyrd, the shades dragged my shattered body to Hel. Hela may have breathed life back into me, but I've found myself trapped. Oddly enough, when Hela closes the gates to Hel, I see opportunity to escape. A chance to rewrite my fate, to find glory again. But as I spend time with Ali my icy resolve starts to crack. I want to choose her, but it could mean being stuck in Hel for good.***For readers of Kelly St. Claire, Leia Stone, Linsey Hall, and Jaymin Eve.

Daughters of the Winter Queen Book
Score: 3.5
From 11 Ratings

Daughters of the Winter Queen


  • Author : Nancy Goldstone
  • Publisher : Little, Brown
  • Release Date : 2018-04-10
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages : 496
  • ISBN 10 : 9780316387880
  • Total Read : 88
  • File Size : 16,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Daughters of the Winter Queen Summary:

The thrilling family saga of five unforgettable women who remade Europe From the great courts, glittering palaces, and war-ravaged battlefields of the seventeenth century comes the story of four spirited sisters and their glamorous mother, Elizabeth Stuart, granddaughter of the martyred Mary, Queen of Scots. Upon her father's ascension to the illustrious throne of England, Elizabeth Stuart was suddenly thrust from the poverty of unruly Scotland into the fairy-tale existence of a princess of great wealth and splendor. When she was married at sixteen to a German count far below her rank, it was with the understanding that her father would help her husband achieve the kingship of Bohemia. The terrible betrayal of this commitment would ruin "the Winter Queen," as Elizabeth would forever be known, imperil the lives of those she loved, and launch a war that would last for thirty years. Forced into exile, the Winter Queen and her family found refuge in Holland, where the glorious art and culture of the Dutch Golden Age indelibly shaped her daughters' lives. Her eldest, Princess Elizabeth, became a scholar who earned the respect and friendship of the philosopher René Descartes. Louisa was a gifted painter whose engaging manner and appealing looks provoked heartache and scandal. Beautiful Henrietta Maria would be the only sister to marry into royalty, although at great cost. But it was the youngest, Sophia, a heroine in the tradition of a Jane Austen novel, whose ready wit and good-natured common sense masked immense strength of character, who fulfilled the promise of her great-grandmother Mary and reshaped the British monarchy, a legacy that endures to this day. Brilliantly researched and captivatingly written, filled with danger, treachery, and adventure but also love, courage, and humor, Daughters of the Winter Queen follows the lives of five remarkable women who, by refusing to surrender to adversity, changed the course of history.

Losing the Empress Book

Losing the Empress


  • Author : David Creighton
  • Publisher : Dundurn
  • Release Date : 2000-09-01
  • Genre: Transportation
  • Pages : 284
  • ISBN 10 : 9781459713024
  • Total Read : 85
  • File Size : 14,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Losing the Empress Summary:

The Empress of Ireland’s last voyage ended on May 29, 1914, when she was rammed by a Norwegian coal-carrier in a fog patch on the St. Lawrence River near Rimouski. For David Creighton, her voyage still continues. In Losing the Empress, Creighton delves into the lives of his grandparents - Salvation Army officers who were lost on the Empress - and the lives of their five orphaned children who would soon be plunged into World War I. His discoveries reveal amazing details about the Empress, which sank in fourteen minutes with a greater loss of life than the Titanic disaster. Shipwreck nostalgia, last voyage dinners, Salvationists, the British Empire and the world wars fought to preserve it; everything comes into focus when the author joins Titanic discoverer Robert Ballard on a film shoot at the sunken liner’s site. Losing the Empress lyrically traces a personal journey into the past and into the future.

The Moon Pearl Book
Score: 3.5
From 2 Ratings

The Moon Pearl


  • Author : Ruthanne Lum McCunn
  • Publisher : Beacon Press
  • Release Date : 2016-03-08
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 328
  • ISBN 10 : 9780807083505
  • Total Read : 86
  • File Size : 18,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Moon Pearl Summary:

In the tradition of Thousand Pieces of Gold comes The Moon Pearl, the story of Rooster, Shadow, and Mei Ju, who become fast friends while members of a girls’ house, where young daughters are taught to become daughters-in-law. These girls, however, want neither to marry nor become nuns (the only options open to them at this time). They choose instead to support themselves through their skills in embroidery and silk production. Though ostracized by their families, attacked, and barely able to find sustenance and shelter, these sze saw, or self-combers as they will come to be called, manage to create lives that they alone control. An amazing true-life story, The Moon Pearl offers an empowering vision of womanhood in China.

Furious Universe Conquest Book

Furious Universe Conquest


  • Author : Xue KunSheng
  • Publisher : Funstory
  • Release Date : 2020-03-29
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : null
  • ISBN 10 : 9781648579547
  • Total Read : 88
  • File Size : 8,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Furious Universe Conquest Summary:

Dugu Hong, a child who grew up in a pack of wolves. When he was twelve years old, he met an extremely awesome master — — Xuanyuan Haotian. From then on, he embarked on a journey of searching for his past and conquering the world. Close]

Nanomancer Reborn   I ve Become A Snow Girl  Book

Nanomancer Reborn I ve Become A Snow Girl


  • Author : Reili
  • Publisher : Cloudary Holdings Limited (webnovel)
  • Release Date : 2020-12-27
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 261
  • ISBN 10 : 978186723xxxx
  • Total Read : 76
  • File Size : 20,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Nanomancer Reborn I ve Become A Snow Girl Summary:

Webnovel - Your Fictional Stories Hub I'm captured? Fine, I can't help it since I can't move. Experimented on? At least give me some anaesthetic. I'm freed? Let me get some revenge. Want to plead for your life? Sorry, this miss here holds a grudge. I destroyed the lab so now let me explore this world freely. I somehow joined Mr Hero's party. Fine, he seems fun. "Aiya, how cruel. For the honour of being a hero you'd kill this missy huh?" She smiled whilst bleeding out. "Che, you still have the mind to joke right now?" He said with a glare. "What is life if not to enjoy every moment? Since I'm going to die and I can't avenge myself, I hope someone else does." "No one will. You were the only one who was more powerful than I with your Nanomancy. Now with you out of th-" "Hush child. I'm trying to die in peace here." "But I'm ol-!" "Ap! Good children don't disturb their elders." "But yo-!" "Bye~" She grinned before losing strength. "FUCK!" … Why am I sleeping in the snowfields? Mr Wolves are growling at me. Hungry huh?... Me too.

Arkania Book

Arkania


  • Author : Alex Andor Skanavis
  • Publisher : Trafford Publishing
  • Release Date : 2021-06-10
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 130
  • ISBN 10 : 9781698703183
  • Total Read : 78
  • File Size : 18,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Arkania Summary:

Arkania is an odyssey of limitless proportions: a spirit quest dedicated to dreamers and pioneers alike. Using the forgotten art of epic poetry, Arkania chronicles the adventures of a young visionary, who becomes initiated in an otherworldly academy of dreamers known as The Astral Alliance. Her increasing abilities, however, threaten the source of dark energies operating light-years away across the Spiral Arm—where Arcturus, her unfulfilled hero awaits. As the struggle between the corruption and salvation of both worlds unfolds, new destructive energies consume each slumbering world. The floating glass fortress of the Astral Alliance—and Arkania—become civilizations’ final safeguard against apocalyptic forces. Classical in style, yet futuristic in scope, this work explores the powers of unlocking imagination, the mystery of the subconscious mind, astral traveling, and the mysterious effect that dreaming has upon our waking world.