Purple Hearts Book

Purple Hearts


  • Author : Tess Wakefield
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2017-04-25
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 320
  • ISBN 10 : 9781501136504
  • Total Read : 81
  • File Size : 20,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Purple Hearts Summary:

SOON TO BE A NETFLIX FILM! When a soldier with a troubled past and a struggling songwriter agree to a marriage of convenience for the military benefits, neither expects much after saying “I do.” Then tragedy strikes, and the line between what’s real and what’s pretend begins to blur in this smart and surprising romance perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Jojo Moyes. Cassie Salazar and Luke Morrow couldn’t be more different. Sharp-witted Cassie works nights at a bar in Austin, Texas to make ends meet while pursuing her dream of becoming a singer/songwriter. Luke is an Army trainee, about to ship out for duty, who finds comfort in the unswerving discipline of service. But a chance encounter at Cassie’s bar changes the course of both their lives. Cassie is drowning in medical bills after being diagnosed with diabetes. When she runs into her old friend Frankie, now enlisted in the Army, she proposes a deal: she’ll marry him in exchange for better medical insurance and they can split the increased paycheck that comes with having a “family.” When Frankie declines, his attractive but frustratingly intense friend Luke volunteers to marry Cassie instead. What she doesn’t know is that he has desperate reasons of his own to get married. In this unforgettable love story, Cassie and Luke must set aside their differences to make it look like a real marriage...unless, somewhere along the way, it becomes one...

Purple Hearts Book

Purple Hearts


  • Author : Tess Wakefield
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release Date : 2017-04-25
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 320
  • ISBN 10 : 9781501136498
  • Total Read : 68
  • File Size : 9,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Purple Hearts Summary:

SOON TO BE A NETFLIX FILM! When a soldier with a troubled past and a struggling songwriter agree to a marriage of convenience for the military benefits, neither expects much after saying “I do.” Then tragedy strikes, and the line between what’s real and what’s pretend begins to blur in this smart and surprising romance perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Jojo Moyes. Cassie Salazar and Luke Morrow couldn’t be more different. Sharp-witted Cassie works nights at a bar in Austin, Texas to make ends meet while pursuing her dream of becoming a singer/songwriter. Luke is an Army trainee, about to ship out for duty, who finds comfort in the unswerving discipline of service. But a chance encounter at Cassie’s bar changes the course of both their lives. Cassie is drowning in medical bills after being diagnosed with diabetes. When she runs into her old friend Frankie, now enlisted in the Army, she proposes a deal: she’ll marry him in exchange for better medical insurance and they can split the increased paycheck that comes with having a “family.” When Frankie declines, his attractive but frustratingly intense friend Luke volunteers to marry Cassie instead. What she doesn’t know is that he has desperate reasons of his own to get married. In this unforgettable love story, Cassie and Luke must set aside their differences to make it look like a real marriage...unless, somewhere along the way, it becomes one...

Three Purple Hearts Book

Three Purple Hearts


  • Author : R. W. Alexander
  • Publisher : Infinity Publishing
  • Release Date : 2005-12
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 172
  • ISBN 10 : 9780741428707
  • Total Read : 87
  • File Size : 9,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Three Purple Hearts Summary:

Terrorists try to kill Purple Heart hero. Curtis has to enter the Protection Program to save finance's life from avenging terrorists. Suspense, Love affairs, Murders, Humor.

Purple Hearts and Silver Stars Book

Purple Hearts and Silver Stars


  • Author : Janice Josephine Carney
  • Publisher : Xlibris Corporation
  • Release Date : 2004-12-16
  • Genre: Poetry
  • Pages : 189
  • ISBN 10 : 9781413475487
  • Total Read : 92
  • File Size : 14,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Purple Hearts and Silver Stars Summary:

In 1996 I celebrated a year of sobriety and began a journey of rebirth. That year I developed confidence in myself that previously I never experienced. I took my personal collection of notes, diaries, and tapes from my year in Vietnam and begin to organize them into a book. In 1997 I completed the manuscript and titled it One Heart One Mind: one man's memoir of a tour of Vietnam. The book not only dealt with my year in Vietnam but with the emotional cost of the war on my soul and psyche. With assistance from Jonathan Shay M.D., Ph.D., the author of Achilles in Vietnam (a book about combat trauma and the undoing of character), I tried unsuccessfully to get my book published. In 1998 I legally changed my name from John Joseph to Janice Josephine and my writing now included transgender issues. I felt that I had come to terms with my trauma from the Vietnam War, and I was ready to move on. In 1999-2000 I wrote and performed a play "I Was Always Me." The two-act play is a monologue of my transition from John to Janice. In the fall of 2000 I had my first article published in the Transgender Tapestry Magazine. In 2001 I was the subject of a documentary: "TransJan" produced and directed by Katherine Cronin. Its premiere at the Provincetown International Film Festival opened the door for me and after each screening; I conducted a Q&A about transgender issues. The latest screening of "TransJan" was in 2002, when it was selected to be one of the films for the Tampa Gay and Lesbian Film Festival. In 2001, in Boston, while performing readings of my poems and rants at Slams, I met the writer Toni Amato. Shortly after that meeting I begin attending Toni's creative writing workshops at Women's Words and later attended one of her weekend writer retreats. That year I presented "TransJan" and sat on panels at the Transcending Boundaries Conference at Yale University and at Speak Out, a conference at Bunker Hill Community College in Boston. My most challenging event that year was the L

Two Purple Hearts Book

Two Purple Hearts


  • Author : Larry E. Bridgham
  • Publisher : Strategic Book Publishing
  • Release Date : 2013-07
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 160
  • ISBN 10 : 9781625162038
  • Total Read : 72
  • File Size : 6,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Two Purple Hearts Summary:

Set in the late 1950s and early 1960s in Cambridge, Massachusetts, Two Purple Hearts tells a tale of troubled romance and suspense. Vallery is a vivacious young woman who falls in love with Ed, a brilliant MIT student. But their romance is sidetracked by the murder-suicide of her mother and step-father. Vallery takes custody of her mentally disturbed younger half-sister, Jeanne, who resents Ed’s presence in their lives. How far will the disturbed girl go to break up the couple? As Vallery and Ed pursue their love affair, they discover shocking evidence that a deceased World War II veteran was actually the father of them both. Could they really be brother and sister? This tense story comes to a climactic ending as Jeanne’s instability erupts in violence. Two Purple Hearts will leave you on the edge of your seat.

Gold Stars and Purple Hearts Book

Gold Stars and Purple Hearts


  • Author : Dr. Lynne Payne Phillips
  • Publisher : AuthorHouse
  • Release Date : 2016-09-16
  • Genre: Performing Arts
  • Pages : 148
  • ISBN 10 : 9781524627119
  • Total Read : 77
  • File Size : 16,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Gold Stars and Purple Hearts Summary:

A coal miner, Don, drafted to fight with the elite Rainbow Division in WWI under General Douglas MacArthur; a pregnant wife with a toddler whose relationship with her mother-in-law is constantly strained; a mother whose love for her son had her leave her Appalachian Mountain home and travel to France on the Gold Star Mothers Pilgrimage in order to take the mountains to her son and bring her son back to the mountains; and Dons son who fights in WWII with the elite Devils Brigade, the first Special Forces Unit in the U.S. Army, are remarkable because these events really took place. This six-act play is the story of two men and two women whose lives were intertwined through blood and war. Sarah Williams Dyson (1874-1957) grew up in the North Carolina mountains with her country doctor father. Sarahs only son, Don, married Vennie Lee Shull in 1914 and moved to Dante, Virginia, to work in the coal mines. Dons draft into WWI in 1917 came at a time when married men were not subject to the draft. In 1923, Vennie remarried. After Vennies divorce, Sarah, 12 years after her sons death, was invited to view Dons tomb-rock in France with other mothers and widows. In 1942, Sarah and Vennie had to watch Dons son, Claude, volunteer to fight in WWII even though he was exempt from fighting since he was the only son of a casualty from WWI. Remembering his dads only written message to him: Dont never be a solder my boy, Claude returned home severely wounded. Don and Claude both received purple hearts and other medals for their bravery. This breed of historian forsakes the myths and yellow journalism and delves into the lives of the characters through primary sources of journals, military records, letters, family Bibles, and first-hand knowledge of neighbors, family, and friends of the characters in the play.

The Legacy of the Purple Heart Book

The Legacy of the Purple Heart


  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : Turner Publishing Company
  • Release Date : 2001
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 183
  • ISBN 10 : 9781563117237
  • Total Read : 96
  • File Size : 11,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Legacy of the Purple Heart Summary:

Purple Hearts Book

Purple Hearts


  • Author : Nina Berman
  • Publisher : Trolley Limited
  • Release Date : 2004
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 92
  • ISBN 10 : UOM:39015059556053
  • Total Read : 61
  • File Size : 8,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Purple Hearts Summary:

A collection of photos of American soldiers,gravely wounded in the Iraq war, named for the,decoration bestowed by the U.S. Army on injured,combatants. Each image is accompanied by a first,person interview with the soldier,portrayed, discussing his life, reasons for,enlisting and experience in Iraq. The photographs,provide a glimpse into the myths of warfare as,seen through the minds of young men desperate to,believe in the righteousness of their actions.