Elizabeth   Margaret Book
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

Elizabeth Margaret


  • Author : Andrew Morton
  • Publisher : Grand Central Publishing
  • Release Date : 2021-03-30
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages : 400
  • ISBN 10 : 9781538700471
  • Total Read : 77
  • File Size : 12,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Elizabeth Margaret Summary:

Perfect for fans of The Crown, this captivating biography from a New York Times bestselling author follows Queen Elizabeth II and her sister Margaret as they navigate life in the royal spotlight. They were the closest of sisters and the best of friends. But when, in a quixotic twist of fate, their uncle Edward Vlll decided to abdicate the throne, the dynamic between Elizabeth and Margaret was dramatically altered. Forever more Margaret would have to curtsey to the sister she called 'Lillibet.' And bow to her wishes. Elizabeth would always look upon her younger sister's antics with a kind of stoical amusement, but Margaret's struggle to find a place and position inside the royal system—and her fraught relationship with its expectations—was often a source of tension. Famously, the Queen had to inform Margaret that the Church and government would not countenance her marrying a divorcee, Group Captain Peter Townsend, forcing Margaret to choose between keeping her title and royal allowances or her divorcee lover. From the idyll of their cloistered early life, through their hidden war-time lives, into the divergent paths they took following their father's death and Elizabeth's ascension to the throne, this book explores their relationship over the years. Andrew Morton's latest biography offers unique insight into these two drastically different sisters—one resigned to duty and responsibility, the other resistant to it—and the lasting impact they have had on the Crown, the royal family, and the ways it adapted to the changing mores of the 20th century.

The Journals of Margaret Schmidt Book

The Journals of Margaret Schmidt


  • Author : Michael Christensen
  • Publisher : Lulu.com
  • Release Date : 2012
  • Genre: Hillsboro (Or.)
  • Pages : 168
  • ISBN 10 : 9781304687302
  • Total Read : 73
  • File Size : 19,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Journals of Margaret Schmidt Summary:

Transcriptions of the diaries of a woman who lived in Glencoe, Hillsboro, Portland, and West Union, Oregon. Includes entries on daily chores, local travel, friends and local personalities.

Appletons  Journal Book

Appletons Journal


  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 1881
  • Genre: Literature
  • Pages : 594
  • ISBN 10 : RUTGERS:39030033851611
  • Total Read : 76
  • File Size : 12,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Appletons Journal Summary:

Doctor Margaret s Sea Chest Book
Score: 3.5
From 4 Ratings

Doctor Margaret s Sea Chest


  • Author : Waheed Rabbani
  • Publisher : Waheed Rabbani
  • Release Date : 2014-09-20
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 436
  • ISBN 10 : 9781849231770
  • Total Read : 80
  • File Size : 6,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Doctor Margaret s Sea Chest Summary:

From the Book’s back Cover Doctor Margaret’s Sea Chest, is Book I of a trilogy of historical fiction set during India’s struggle for freedom—Azadi—from the British Raj. The Books weave a tale of international intrigue, conflict, and poignant love between interesting characters of that era. In 1965 an over 100-year-old sea chest, believed to be that of an American doctor, Margaret, is discovered in the storage room of a hospital in Delhi. Another American doctor, Sharif, who originally hails from Delhi and is on contract at the hospital, is entrusted with the task of locating the mysterious woman’s relatives and returning her trunk. Sharif tracks down Margaret’s descendants in Grimsby, Ontario, Canada. Her diaries, and other artefacts—such as the Kingdom of Jhansi’s crown—are found in the coffer. Margaret, born in New Jersey to a Scottish Presbyterian clerical family, overcomes tremendous obstacles and achieves her heart’s desire, in 1850, to become one of the first North American women doctors. She marries her Canadian cousin, Robert, and travels with him to serve in the Crimean war of 1854. In Crimea, they have to not only face hardships of battles, but also endure other conflicts. From events leading to and after the infamous Charge of the Light Brigade, Margaret meets a Russian officer, Count Nicholai. The surprise ending of Book I, leaves Margaret in a quandary, whether to seek vengeance or to continue on with her journey to India. In the end, she believes she has made the right decision. ******************************************** ******************************************** “[Waheed’s] take on the Indian Mutiny from an Indian point of view is fascinating to the Western reader and should be well received…” – Ian Walker, author of LOCA

The Margaret Mitchell Encyclopedia Book
Score: 3.5
From 8 Ratings

The Margaret Mitchell Encyclopedia


  • Author : Anita Price Davis
  • Publisher : McFarland
  • Release Date : 2014-01-10
  • Genre: Literary Criticism
  • Pages : 240
  • ISBN 10 : 9780786492459
  • Total Read : 86
  • File Size : 17,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Margaret Mitchell Encyclopedia Summary:

Atlanta writer Margaret Mitchell (1900–1949) wrote Gone with the Wind (1936), one of the best-selling novels of all time. The Pulitzer Prize–winning novel was the basis of the 1939 film, the first movie to win more than five Academy Awards. Margaret Mitchell did not publish another novel after Gone with the Wind. Supporting the troops during World War II, assisting African-American students financially, serving in the American Red Cross, selling stamps and bonds, and helping others—usually anonymously—consumed her. This book reveals little-known facts about this altruistic woman. The Margaret Mitchell Encyclopedia documents Mitchell’s work, her life, her impact on Atlanta, the city’s memorials to her, her residences, details of her death, information about her family, the establishment of the Margaret Mitchell House against great odds, and her relationships with the Daughters of the Confederacy and the Junior League.

The Complete Works of Margaret Fuller Book

The Complete Works of Margaret Fuller


  • Author : Margaret Fuller
  • Publisher : DigiCat
  • Release Date : 2022-11-13
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages : 1841
  • ISBN 10 : EAN:8596547392620
  • Total Read : 98
  • File Size : 15,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Complete Works of Margaret Fuller Summary:

Sarah Margaret Fuller Ossoli (1810-1850) was an American journalist, critic, and women's rights advocate associated with the American transcendentalism movement. She was the first full-time American female book reviewer in journalism. Fuller was an advocate of women's rights and, in particular, women's education and the right to employment. Her book "Woman in the Nineteenth Century" is considered the first major feminist work in the United States. She encouraged many other reforms in society, including prison reform and the emancipation of slaves in the United States. Many other advocates for women's rights and feminism, including Susan B. Anthony, cite Fuller as a source of inspiration. Contents: Woman in the Nineteenth Century Summer on the Lakes in 1843 Memoirs Reviews Narrative Essays Poems Biography by Julia Ward Howe

Margaret Fuller Book
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

Margaret Fuller


  • Author : Charles Capper
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press
  • Release Date : 1992
  • Genre: Biography & Autobiography
  • Pages : 688
  • ISBN 10 : 9780195063134
  • Total Read : 86
  • File Size : 13,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Margaret Fuller Summary:

A comprehensive biography of the intellectual, including how she established her identity during the Romantic Age, how she engaged with the movements of her time, and how she articulated a vision for her nation's culture and politics.

Margaret Fuller Book

Margaret Fuller


  • Author : Julia Ward Howe
  • Publisher : BoD – Books on Demand
  • Release Date : 2020-07-18
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 142
  • ISBN 10 : 9783752324051
  • Total Read : 69
  • File Size : 12,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Margaret Fuller Summary:

Reproduction of the original: Margaret Fuller by Julia Ward Howe