Immortal Book
Score: 3.5
From 2 Ratings

Immortal


  • Author : Gene Doucette
  • Publisher : Gene Doucette
  • Release Date : 2016-08-31
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 356
  • ISBN 10 : 978186723xxxx
  • Total Read : 88
  • File Size : 14,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Immortal Summary:

Immortal Book

Immortal


  • Author : David Goldman
  • Publisher : Academic Press
  • Release Date : 2021-07-01
  • Genre: Medical
  • Pages : 204
  • ISBN 10 : 9780323856935
  • Total Read : 95
  • File Size : 9,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Immortal Summary:

In recent times, the boundary between living and non-living has been blurred by advances in genomics, cell biology, and molecular neuroscience, whereby humans are repaired, enhanced, or made anew. Scientists and physicians are now able to keep cells, organs, and bodies alive indefinitely and can return cells or DNA to our bodies and make new cells for the purpose of treating disease or growing new tissue. Meanwhile, transhuman technologies create illusions of immortality. Immortal: Our Cells, DNA, and Bodies synthesizes what we know about life and death from a genetic, molecular, and cellular perspective, demarcates limits of knowledge, and poses new questions. Award-winning researcher and writer David Goldman examines in-depth three keys to understanding the nature and continuity of life: 1) epigenetic (ephemeral) vs genetic (durable) transgenerational memory; 2) life’s cellular nature, and the ability to make bodies from cells; and 3) the distinction between bodies and persons. Grounded in recent scientific evidence and real-life cases that test our historical understanding of life and death, Goldman probes the nature of molecular continuity in the face of mortal extinction, encompassing how changes to the DNA code can be both long-lasting and transgenerational, and the continuous nature of cellular and molecular information transmission. In tying these themes together, Immortal asks us to apply fresh scientific concepts to examine, for ourselves, the continuity of being in the face of mortality. Applies recent genetic, molecular and cellular findings to examine the boundaries between living and non-living, and between person and non-person Examines the significance of epigenetic memory and transgenerational inheritance and their uses in molecular and precision medicine Written by a thought-leader in genetic and molecular medicine

Juliet Immortal Book
Score: 3
From 51 Ratings

Juliet Immortal


  • Author : Stacey Jay
  • Publisher : Ember
  • Release Date : 2012-09-11
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages : 322
  • ISBN 10 : 9780385740173
  • Total Read : 70
  • File Size : 6,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Juliet Immortal Summary:

Fans of Maggie Stiefvater's Shiver and Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush will relish this intense paranormal love story featuring Romeo and Juliet, literary history's most tragic couple, who meet again, not as true lovers, but truly as enemies. The most tragic love story in history . . . Juliet Capulet didn't take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, a sacrifice made to ensure his own immortality. But what Romeo didn't anticipate was that Juliet would be granted eternity, as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light. For 700 years, she's fought Romeo for the souls of true lovers, struggling to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent. Until the day she meets someone she's forbidden to love, and Romeo, oh Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy that love. "These violent delights have violent ends And in their triumph die, like fire and powder, Which as they kiss consume." —Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks Book
Score: 4
From 4,067 Ratings

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks


  • Author : Rebecca Skloot
  • Publisher : Crown
  • Release Date : 2010-02-02
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages : 400
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307589385
  • Total Read : 86
  • File Size : 6,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks Summary:

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “The story of modern medicine and bioethics—and, indeed, race relations—is refracted beautifully, and movingly.”—Entertainment Weekly NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE FROM HBO® STARRING OPRAH WINFREY AND ROSE BYRNE • ONE OF THE “MOST INFLUENTIAL” (CNN), “DEFINING” (LITHUB), AND “BEST” (THE PHILADELPHIA INQUIRER) BOOKS OF THE DECADE • ONE OF ESSENCE’S 50 MOST IMPACTFUL BLACK BOOKS OF THE PAST 50 YEARS • WINNER OF THE CHICAGO TRIBUNE HEARTLAND PRIZE FOR NONFICTION NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review • Entertainment Weekly • O: The Oprah Magazine • NPR • Financial Times • New York • Independent (U.K.) • Times (U.K.) • Publishers Weekly • Library Journal • Kirkus Reviews • Booklist • Globe and Mail Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer who worked the same land as her slave ancestors, yet her cells—taken without her knowledge—became one of the most important tools in medicine: The first “immortal” human cells grown in culture, which are still alive today, though she has been dead for more than sixty years. HeLa cells were vital for developing the polio vaccine; uncovered secrets of cancer, viruses, and the atom bomb’s effects; helped lead to important advances like in vitro fertilization, cloning, and gene mapping; and have been bought and sold by the billions. Yet Henrietta Lacks remains virtually unknown, buried in an unmarked grave. Henrietta’s family did not learn of her “immortality” until more than twenty years after her death, when scientists investigating HeLa began using her husband and children in research without informed consent. And though the cells had launched a multimillion-dollar industry that sells human biological materials, her family never saw any of the profits. As Rebecca Skloot so brilliantly shows, the story of the Lacks family—past and present—i

Evermore Book
Score: 4
From 303 Ratings

Evermore


  • Author : Alyson Noël
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Griffin
  • Release Date : 2009-02-03
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages : 320
  • ISBN 10 : 9781429918688
  • Total Read : 97
  • File Size : 16,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Evermore Summary:

Don't miss Evermore, the first book in Alyson Noël's #1 New York Times bestselling The Immortals series. Enter an enchanting new world where true love never dies. . . After a horrible accident claimed the lives of her family, sixteen-year-old Ever Bloom can see people's auras, hear their thoughts, and know someone's entire life story by touching them. Going out of her way to avoid human contact and suppress her abilities, she has been branded a freak at her new high school—but everything changes when she meets Damen Auguste. Damen is gorgeous, exotic and wealthy. He's the only one who can silence the noise and random energy in her head—wielding a magic so intense, it's as though he can peer straight into her soul. As Ever is drawn deeper into his enticing world of secrets and mystery, she's left with more questions than answers. And she has no idea just who he really is—or what he is. The only thing she knows to be true is that she's falling deeply and helplessly in love with him.

The Immortal Book
Score: 5
From 1 Ratings

The Immortal


  • Author : Joseph J. Dewey
  • Publisher : Great AD-Ventures
  • Release Date : 1998
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 380
  • ISBN 10 : 0966505301
  • Total Read : 96
  • File Size : 18,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Immortal Summary:

The Immortal is the story of the return of the Apostle John to teach the Keys of Knowledge to his student, JJ Dewey, to prepare the world for the new age of peace. This is a book so riveting you will not be able to put it down until you've read the whole thing. The mystery of the book: Is it fact of fiction? Most readers agree this unique knowledge had to come from a higher source.

Becoming Immortal Book

Becoming Immortal


  • Author : Stanley Shostak
  • Publisher : State University of New York Press
  • Release Date : 2012-02-01
  • Genre: Science
  • Pages : 322
  • ISBN 10 : 9780791488416
  • Total Read : 63
  • File Size : 11,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Becoming Immortal Summary:

Explores how new organs might be engineered via cloning and reproductive technology to achieve human immortality.

Immortal From Another World Book

Immortal From Another World


  • Author : Ai ShangYuWeiWen
  • Publisher : Funstory
  • Release Date : 2020-10-11
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : null
  • ISBN 10 : 9781636668505
  • Total Read : 86
  • File Size : 16,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Immortal From Another World Summary:

Ye Fei, who brought along his father's flying immortal from outer space, came to the continent after surviving for 500 years. Even though he was called an idiot by others, his family love and love made him truly feel the warmth of his family.