Gaslight Book

Gaslight


  • Author : Rachael Rose
  • Publisher : Wattpad Books
  • Release Date : 2022-03-29
  • Genre: Young Adult Fiction
  • Pages : 352
  • ISBN 10 : 9781989365625
  • Total Read : 97
  • File Size : 17,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Gaslight Summary:

Everyone has a limit. It’s a six-hour flight from New York City to Los Angeles. For Maddie Goodwright and her mom, it’s six hours that will change their lives as they leave behind broken relationships and shattered dreams. But a new school, a new home, and a new group of friends can’t heal the wounds of the past. To move forward, Maddie will have to reinvent herself. When Maddie’s step-cousins take her to the local underground fight club, it’s only a matter of time before boxer Hayden Walker catches her eye. Strong, powerful, and confident—he’s everything Maddie isn’t, but definitely wants to be. Convincing Hayden to train her is hard, not falling for him will be even harder. As Maddie transforms both inside and out of the ring, her past returns with a vengeance determined to ruin everything. Except this time he’s not ready for her to face him head on.

By Gaslight Book
Score: 3.5
From 11 Ratings

By Gaslight


  • Author : Steven Price
  • Publisher : McClelland & Stewart
  • Release Date : 2016-08-23
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 600
  • ISBN 10 : 9780771069437
  • Total Read : 68
  • File Size : 16,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
By Gaslight Summary:

Longlisted for the 2016 Scotiabank Giller Prize No. 1 National Bestseller Globe and Mail's "20 Books to Read in 2016," Maclean's bestseller, Toronto Star bestseller, Ottawa Citizen's "Best on the Shelf," Huffington Post's "Best Fall 2016 Books," Publishers Weekly "Books of the Week," National Post bestseller, Vanity Fair 2016 "Must Read Books of the Fall" "A dark tale of love, betrayal and murder that reaches from the slums of Victorian London to the diamond mines in South Africa, to the American Civil War and back. Superb storytelling." --Kurt Palka, author of The Piano Maker A magnificent literary historical-suspense novel in the tradition of Eleanor Catton's The Luminaries, Patrick DeWitt's The Sisters Brothers, and Michael Faber's The Crimson Petal and the White, By Gaslight is destined to be one of the most acclaimed and talked-about books of the year. London, 1885. In a city of fog and darkness, the notorious thief Edward Shade exists only as a ghost, a fabled con, a thief of other men's futures -- a man of smoke. William Pinkerton is already famous, the son of a brutal detective, when he descends into the underworld of Victorian London in pursuit of a new lead. His father died without ever tracing Shade; William, still reeling from his loss, is determined to drag the thief out of the shadows. Adam Foole is a gentleman without a past, haunted by a love affair ten years gone. When he receives a letter from his lost beloved, he returns to London in search of her; what he learns of her fate, and its connection to the man known as Shade, will force him to confront a grief he thought long-buried. What follows is a fog-enshrouded hunt through sewers, opium dens, drawing rooms, and seance halls. Above all, it is the story of the most unlikely of bonds: between William Pinkerton, the greatest detective of his age, and Adam Foole, the one man who may hold the key to finding Edward Shade. Epic in scope, brilliantly conceived, and stunningly written, Steven Price's By Ga

The Gaslight Effect Book
Score: 4.5
From 3 Ratings

The Gaslight Effect


  • Author : Robin Stern
  • Publisher : Harmony
  • Release Date : 2018
  • Genre: FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS
  • Pages : 271
  • ISBN 10 : 9780767924467
  • Total Read : 81
  • File Size : 14,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Gaslight Effect Summary:

A study of the "gaslight effect" discusses this form of manipulation that consistently puts the other person in the wrong and reveals what can be done to overcome this behavior and determine if an unhealthy relationship can be salvaged.

The Gaslight Effect Book
Score: 5
From 3 Ratings

The Gaslight Effect


  • Author : Dr. Robin Stern
  • Publisher : Harmony
  • Release Date : 2007-05-01
  • Genre: Psychology
  • Pages : 304
  • ISBN 10 : 9780767927826
  • Total Read : 87
  • File Size : 18,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Gaslight Effect Summary:

In this groundbreaking guide, the prominent therapist Dr. Robin Stern shows how the Gaslight Effect works, how you can decide which relationships can be saved and which you have to walk away from—and how to gasproof your life so you'll avoid gaslighting relationship. Your husband crosses the line in his flirtations with another woman at a dinner party. When you confront him, he asks you to stop being insecure and controlling. After a long argument, you apologize for giving him a hard time. Your mother belittles your clothes, your job, and your boyfriend. But instead of fighting back, you wonder if your mother is right and figure that a mature person should be able to take a little criticism. If you think things like this can’t happen to you, think again. Gaslighting is an insidious form of emotional abuse and manipulation that is difficult to recognize and even harder to break free from. Are you being gaslighted? Check for these telltale signs: 1) Does your opinion of yourself change according to approval or disapproval from your spouse? 2) When your boss praises you, do you feel as if you could conquer the world? 3) Do you dread having small things go wrong at home—buying the wrong brand of toothpaste, not having dinner ready on time, a mistaken appointment written on the calendar? 4) Do you have trouble making simple decisions and constantly second guess yourself? 5) Do you frequently make excuses for your partner's behavior to your family and friends? 6) Do you feel hopeless and joyless?

Gaslight Book

Gaslight


  • Author : Patrick Hamilton
  • Publisher : Hachette UK
  • Release Date : 2018-08-02
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 80
  • ISBN 10 : 9780349141596
  • Total Read : 77
  • File Size : 9,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Gaslight Summary:

This classic Victorian thriller was first produced in 1935. Jack Manningham is slowly, deliberately driving his wife, Bella, insane. He has almost succeeded when help arrives in the form of a former detective, Rough, who believes Manningham to be a thief and murderer. Aided by Bella, Rough proves Manningham's true identity and finally Bella achieves a few moments of sweet revenge for the suffering inflicted on her.

Gaslighting Book

Gaslighting


  • Author : Stephanie Moulton Sarkis
  • Publisher : Da Capo Lifelong Books
  • Release Date : 2018-10-02
  • Genre: Self-Help
  • Pages : 272
  • ISBN 10 : 9780738284651
  • Total Read : 61
  • File Size : 16,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Gaslighting Summary:

A mental health expert sheds light on "gaslighting"--the manipulative technique used by sociopaths, narcissists, and others--offering practical strategies to cope and break free. He's the charmer -- the witty, confident, but overly controlling date. She's the woman on your team who always manages to take credit for your good work. He's the neighbor who swears you've been putting your garbage into his trash cans, the politician who can never admit to a mistake. Gaslighters are master controllers and manipulators, often challenging your very sense of reality. Whether it's a spouse, parent, coworker, or friend, gaslighters distort the truth -- by lying, withholding, triangulation, and more -- making their victims question their own reality and sanity. Dr. Stephanie Sarkis delves into this hidden manipulation technique, covering gaslighting in every life scenario, sharing: Why gaslighters seem so "normal" at first Warning signs and examples Gaslighter "red flags" on a first date Practical strategies for coping How to coparent with a gaslighter How to protect yourself from a gaslighter at work How to walk away and rebuild your life With clear-eyed wisdom and empathy, Dr. Sarkis not only helps you determine if you are being victimized by a gaslighter -- she gives you the tools to break free and heal.

Deception by Gaslight Book
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

Deception by Gaslight


  • Author : Kate Belli
  • Publisher : Crooked Lane Books
  • Release Date : 2020-10-06
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 237
  • ISBN 10 : 9781643854656
  • Total Read : 62
  • File Size : 10,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Deception by Gaslight Summary:

Glittering Gilded-Age New York holds its lavish charms--and a litany of deadly sins--as intrepid reporter Genevieve Stewart uncovers a trail of corruption and murder. As a chill sets in on New York City in the winter of 1888, a jewel thief dubbed the "Robin Hood of the Lower East Side" has been stealing from the city's wealthiest and giving to the poor. Genevieve Stewart--a young woman whose family is part of Mrs. Astor's famed 400 but who has forged a life of her own as a reporter--decides to chase the story, but gets more than she bargained for: a murder victim sprawled in a dark alley in the dangerous Five Points neighborhood. A handsome neighborhood tough comes to her rescue--but when she encounters the same man at a glamorous ball a few nights later, she realizes he's society scion Daniel McCaffrey. Could this be her Robin Hood? When two more murders rock the Knickerbocker world, it becomes apparent that something much more sinister is afoot than a few stolen diamond necklaces. Genevieve is determined to prove that Daniel is Robin Hood--but she's loath to believe he is a killer as well. From the glittering lights of Fifth Avenue to the sordid back alleys of Five Points, the truth is just one murder away.

Gaslight Melodrama Book

Gaslight Melodrama


  • Author : Guy Barefoot
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Release Date : 2016-10-06
  • Genre: Performing Arts
  • Pages : 240
  • ISBN 10 : 9781474290364
  • Total Read : 63
  • File Size : 10,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Gaslight Melodrama Summary:

In 1945, a year when American crime films were apparently moving out on to the streets of contemporary Los Angeles and New York, one reviewer noted the emergence of a 'cycle of mystery and horror pictures placed in the gaslight era of the turn of the century.' For another critic, it seemed that for Hollywood there was 'no world of today save the world of London by gaslight'. In Gaslight Melodrama, Guy Barefoot examines the films that gave rise to such comments, and the pattern of discourse that gave rise to such films. The book's main focus is provided by 1940s Hollywood melodramas such as Gaslight, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Hangover Square. It also discusses a related cycle of British films that located murder and melodrama in Victorian or Edwardian settings, and then looks beyond cinema to the Gothic novels of the 18th century, 19th century discussions of gas lighting in street, home and theatre, and ambivalent 20th century responses to the Victorian era. Combining close analysis of particular film texts with attention to cinema's cultural context, Gaslight Melodrama provides an exploration of the ways in which the past has been the site of contested meaning, and an examination of the network of melodramatic narratives embedded within familiar and lesser-known examples of classical Hollywood cinema.