Dominion Book
Score: 4.5
From 5 Ratings

Dominion


  • Author : Tom Holland
  • Publisher : Basic Books
  • Release Date : 2019-10-29
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 624
  • ISBN 10 : 9780465093526
  • Total Read : 81
  • File Size : 5,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Dominion Summary:

A "marvelous" (Economist) account of how the Christian Revolution forged the Western imagination. Crucifixion, the Romans believed, was the worst fate imaginable, a punishment reserved for slaves. How astonishing it was, then, that people should have come to believe that one particular victim of crucifixion-an obscure provincial by the name of Jesus-was to be worshipped as a god. Dominion explores the implications of this shocking conviction as they have reverberated throughout history. Today, the West remains utterly saturated by Christian assumptions. As Tom Holland demonstrates, our morals and ethics are not universal but are instead the fruits of a very distinctive civilization. Concepts such as secularism, liberalism, science, and homosexuality are deeply rooted in a Christian seedbed. From Babylon to the Beatles, Saint Michael to #MeToo, Dominion tells the story of how Christianity transformed the modern world.

Dominion Book
Score: 4
From 6 Ratings

Dominion


  • Author : Matthew Scully
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Press
  • Release Date : 2003-10-08
  • Genre: Nature
  • Pages : 464
  • ISBN 10 : 9781429980432
  • Total Read : 63
  • File Size : 13,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Dominion Summary:

"And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness; and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth." --Genesis 1:24-26 In this crucial passage from the Old Testament, God grants mankind power over animals. But with this privilege comes the grave responsibility to respect life, to treat animals with simple dignity and compassion. Somewhere along the way, something has gone wrong. In Dominion, we witness the annual convention of Safari Club International, an organization whose wealthier members will pay up to $20,000 to hunt an elephant, a lion or another animal, either abroad or in American "safari ranches," where the animals are fenced in pens. We attend the annual International Whaling Commission conference, where the skewed politics of the whaling industry come to light, and the focus is on developing more lethal, but not more merciful, methods of harvesting "living marine resources." And we visit a gargantuan American "factory farm," where animals are treated as mere product and raised in conditions of mass confinement, bred for passivity and bulk, inseminated and fed with machines, kept in tightly confined stalls for the entirety of their lives, and slaughtered in a way that maximizes profits and minimizes decency. Throughout Dominion, Scully counters the hypocritical arguments that attempt to excuse animal abuse: from those who argue that the Bible's message permits mankind to use animals as it pleases, to the hunter's argument that through hunting animal populations are controlled, to the popular and "scientifically proven" notions that animals cannot feel pain, experience no emotions, and are not conscious of their own lives. The result is eye opening, painful and infuriating, insightful and rewarding. Dominion is a plea for human benevolence and mercy, a scathing attack on those who would dismiss animal acti

Dominion Book
Score: 3.5
From 27 Ratings

Dominion


  • Author : C. J. Sansom
  • Publisher : Random House Canada
  • Release Date : 2013-08-13
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 400
  • ISBN 10 : 9780345813657
  • Total Read : 64
  • File Size : 19,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Dominion Summary:

At once a vivid, haunting reimagining of 1950s Britain, a gripping, humane spy thriller and a poignant love story, with Dominion C.J. Sansom once again asserts himself as the master of the historical novel. 1952. Twelve years have passed since Churchill lost to the appeasers and Britain surrendered to Nazi Germany. The press, radio and television are tightly controlled. British Jews face ever greater constraints. But Churchill's Resistance soldiers on. And in a Birmingham mental hospital, fragile scientist Frank Muncaster holds a secret that could alter the balance of the global struggle forever. Civil Servant David Fitzgerald, a spy for the Resistance, is given the mission to rescue Frank and get him out of the country. Hard on his heels is Gestapo agent Gunther Hoth, a brilliant, implacable hunter of men, who soon has Frank, along with David's innocent wife, Sarah, directly in his sights. C.J. Sansom's literary thriller Winter in Madrid earned him comparisons to Graham Greene, Sebastian Faulks and Ernest Hemingway. Now, in the first alternative history epic from Sansom in the tradition of Robert Harris's Fatherland and Stephen King's 11/22/63, Sansom doesn't just recreate the past--he reinvents it. In a spellbinding tale of suspense, oppression and poignant love, Dominion dares to explore how, in moments of crisis, history can turn on the decisions of a few brave men and women--the secrets they keep and the bonds they share.

The Devil s Dominion Book

The Devil s Dominion


  • Author : Richard Godbeer
  • Publisher : Cambridge University Press
  • Release Date : 1992
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 272
  • ISBN 10 : 0521466709
  • Total Read : 89
  • File Size : 5,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Devil s Dominion Summary:

A detailed look at the folk magic used by settlers in early New England.

Dixie and the Dominion Book

Dixie and the Dominion


  • Author : Adam Mayers
  • Publisher : Dundurn
  • Release Date : 2003-10
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 268
  • ISBN 10 : 155002468X
  • Total Read : 63
  • File Size : 13,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Dixie and the Dominion Summary:

1864. The war had entered its third year, and the battle momentum had shifted towards the North. A Union victory seemed imminent. Desperate to keep the Confederate dream alive, Southern leaders concocted a last-ditch plan to turn the tide in their favour. They took advantage of the undefended border and used Canada as a base from which to launch a series of military attacks and terrifying raids on Northern states. In order to prevent further assaults, the United States imposed its first passport laws and threatened trade sanctions, a move that foreshadowed future actions the U.S. would take against Canada in order to defend its borders. As the drama unfolded south of the border, Canada sought to establish its own independence in the form of Confederation. The coalition between Liberal reformer George Brown and Conservative chieftain John A. Macdonald was the force that would create the Dominion of Canada in 1867. The pressure of the Civil War, with its threat to the colonies' security, was a driving force behind this extraordinary pact.

Dominion of Memories Book

Dominion of Memories


  • Author : Susan Dunn
  • Publisher : Basic Books
  • Release Date : 2007-07-30
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 320
  • ISBN 10 : 9780465006793
  • Total Read : 59
  • File Size : 11,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Dominion of Memories Summary:

For decades, the Commonwealth of Virginia led the nation. The premier state in population, size, and wealth, it produced a galaxy of leaders: Washington, Jefferson, Madison, Monroe, Mason, Marshall. Four of the first five presidents were Virginians. And yet by the middle of the nineteenth century, Virginia had become a byword for slavery, provincialism, and poverty. What happened? In her remarkable book, Dominion of Memories, historian Susan Dunn reveals the little known story of the decline of the Old Dominion. While the North rapidly industrialized and democratized, Virginia's leaders turned their backs on the accelerating modern world. Spellbound by the myth of aristocratic, gracious plantation life, they waged an impossible battle against progress and time itself. In their last years, two of Virginia's greatest sons, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison, grappled vigorously with the Old Dominion's plight. But bound to the traditions of their native soil, they found themselves grievously torn by the competing claims of state and nation, slavery and equality, the agrarian vision and the promises of economic development and prosperity. This fresh and penetrating examination of Virginia's struggle to defend its sovereignty, traditions, and unique identity encapsulates, in the history of a single state, the struggle of an entire nation drifting inexorably toward Civil War.

Dominion and Civility Book

Dominion and Civility


  • Author : Michael Leroy Oberg
  • Publisher : Cornell University Press
  • Release Date : 2018-08-06
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 256
  • ISBN 10 : 9781501729256
  • Total Read : 77
  • File Size : 6,6 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Dominion and Civility Summary:

Was the relationship between English settlers and Native Americans in the New World destined to turn tragic? This book investigates how the newcomers interacted with Algonquian groups in the Chesapeake Bay area and New England, describing the role that original Americans occupied in England's empire during the critical first century of contact. Michael Leroy Oberg considers the history of Anglo-Indian relations in transatlantic context while viewing the frontier as a zone where neither party had the upper hand. He tells how the English pursued three sets of policies in America—securing profit for their sponsors, making lands safe from both European and native enemies, and "civilizing" the Indians—and explains why the British settlers found it impossible to achieve all of these goals. Oberg places the history of Anglo-Indian relations in the early Chesapeake and New England in a broad transatlantic context while drawing parallels with subsequent efforts by England as well as its imperial rivals—the French, Dutch, and Spanish—to plant colonies in America. Dominion and Civility promises to broaden our understanding of the exchange between Europeans and Indians and makes an important contribution to the emerging history of the English Atlantic world.

SBA Lease Guarantee  Old Dominion Sugar Corp   Book

SBA Lease Guarantee Old Dominion Sugar Corp


  • Author : United States. Congress. House. Select Committee on Small Business. Subcommittee on Small Business Problems in Smaller Towns and Urban Areas
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 1970
  • Genre: Uncategoriezed
  • Pages : 638
  • ISBN 10 : LOC:00186934350
  • Total Read : 61
  • File Size : 9,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
SBA Lease Guarantee Old Dominion Sugar Corp Summary: