Container Atlas Book

Container Atlas


  • Author : Han Slawik
  • Publisher : Gestalten
  • Release Date : 2020-04-21
  • Genre: Buildings, Prefabricated
  • Pages : 304
  • ISBN 10 : 3899556690
  • Total Read : 67
  • File Size : 18,9 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Container Atlas Summary:

The book Container Atlas. A Practical Guide to Container Architecture presents a wide range of projects in container architecture - a contemporary architectural phenomenon. Container architecture has become an essential part of our twenty-first century surroundings, with it being used to create modular structures for pavilions, brand showrooms, retail premises, and even residential homes. Ten years after the first publication of Container Atlas, this eagerly anticipated follow-up charts how this movement has evolved into an essential part of today's architectural vocabulary. Container Atlas serves as a practical and inspirational reference not only for architects and engineers, but also for all creatives eager to learn about the rich and diverse language of container architecture and modular building."

Shipping Container Book

Shipping Container


  • Author : Craig Martin
  • Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Release Date : 2016-01-28
  • Genre: Literary Criticism
  • Pages : 144
  • ISBN 10 : 9781501303159
  • Total Read : 79
  • File Size : 5,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Shipping Container Summary:

Object Lessons is a series of short, beautifully designed books about the hidden lives of ordinary things. The shipping container is all around: whizzing by on the highway, trundling past on rails, unloading behind a big box store even as you shop there, clanking on the docks just out of sight.... 90% of the goods and materials that move around the globe do so in shipping containers. It is an absolutely ubiquitous object, even if most of us have no direct contact with it. But what is this thing? Where has it been, and where is it going? Craig Martin's book illuminates the “development of containerization”-including design history, standardization, aesthetics, and a surprising speculative discussion of the futurity of shipping containers. Object Lessons is published in partnership with an essay series in The Atlantic.

150 Best Eco House Ideas Book

150 Best Eco House Ideas


  • Author : Marta Serrats
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release Date : 2011-11-08
  • Genre: Architecture
  • Pages : 600
  • ISBN 10 : 9780062109545
  • Total Read : 76
  • File Size : 8,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
150 Best Eco House Ideas Summary:

Featuring an extensive collection of full-color photographs, 150 Best Eco House Ideas features eco-friendly house designs created by internationally renowned architects and designers who have achieved practical, innovative, and stunning solutions adapted to the specific needs and tastes of their clients. Included here are the latest innovations in sustainable home design, including solar paneling, wind energy systems, environmentally-friendly heating and cooling solutions, thermal glazing, and trombe walls. 150 Best Eco House Ideas covering the diversity of current trends in sustainable home design, and is both the perfect resource for designers, interior decorators, and architects, as well an inspirational sourcebook for all homeowners interested in creating warm and inviting homes that cause only a fraction of the environmental impact of those created using conventional building methods.

Rebranding Precarity Book

Rebranding Precarity


  • Author : Ella Harris
  • Publisher : Zed Books Ltd.
  • Release Date : 2020-10-29
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages : 236
  • ISBN 10 : 9781786999832
  • Total Read : 60
  • File Size : 11,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Rebranding Precarity Summary:

'Pop-up' is a fully-fledged, new urbanism. Celebrated as a flexible and exciting new form of place making, pop-up culture includes temporary or nomadic sites such as cinemas, container malls, supper clubs, even pop-up housing and is now ubiquitous in cities across the world. But what are the stakes of the ‘pop-up’ city? Traversing a wealth of fascinating case studies, Rebranding Precarity shows how pop-up works to rebrand insecurity and encourages us to embrace precarity as the new normal. Revealing how urban crisis has particular temporal and spatial characteristics, defined by uncertainty, instability, fractures and gaps, it illuminates how those markers of crisis have been optimistically reimagined over the last few years, through an examination of seven logics that rebrand insecurity including within housing, labour economies and gentrifying areas. In doing so, it paints a frightening picture of how crisis conditions have become not just accepted, but are in fact desired, in today’s metropolis.

Cloud Atlas Book
Score: 4
From 509 Ratings

Cloud Atlas


  • Author : David Mitchell
  • Publisher : Vintage Canada
  • Release Date : 2010-07-16
  • Genre: Fiction
  • Pages : 528
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307373571
  • Total Read : 59
  • File Size : 15,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Cloud Atlas Summary:

By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity. Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history. But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky. As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, lik

Stack  Cut  Assemble ISO 668 Book

Stack Cut Assemble ISO 668


  • Author : Sibylle Kramer
  • Publisher : Braun Publishing AG
  • Release Date : 2018-07
  • Genre: Architectural metal-work
  • Pages : 192
  • ISBN 10 : 3037682310
  • Total Read : 85
  • File Size : 18,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Stack Cut Assemble ISO 668 Summary:

Shipping containers are a key symbol of the globalized world economy: 20 or 40 feet of pure steel reduced to the essentials. Especially their pysical qualities have made them popular among architects and designers as an expression of a contemporary lifestyle - independent, flexible and unconventional. Stacking, cutting and assembling these boxes results in sophisticated design concepts and well-thought-out functional solutions in very different contexts. These range from experimental art projects via temporary restaurants to complex housing structures and even a railway station. The projects selected for this volume reflect the great variety of the still young container architecture sector and show the enormous potential inherent in these robust, inexpensive and universally available standardized modules.

Hardware Age Book

Hardware Age


  • Author : Anonim
  • Publisher : Unknown
  • Release Date : 1937-10
  • Genre: Hardware
  • Pages : null
  • ISBN 10 : UOM:35128001672888
  • Total Read : 66
  • File Size : 16,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Hardware Age Summary:

Dare to Lead Book
Score: 3.5
From 9 Ratings

Dare to Lead


  • Author : Brené Brown
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release Date : 2018-10-09
  • Genre: Business & Economics
  • Pages : 321
  • ISBN 10 : 9780399592522
  • Total Read : 79
  • File Size : 15,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Dare to Lead Summary:

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Brené Brown has taught us what it means to dare greatly, rise strong, and brave the wilderness. Now, based on new research conducted with leaders, change makers, and culture shifters, she’s showing us how to put those ideas into practice so we can step up and lead. Don’t miss the five-part HBO Max docuseries Brené Brown: Atlas of the Heart! NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BLOOMBERG Leadership is not about titles, status, and wielding power. A leader is anyone who takes responsibility for recognizing the potential in people and ideas, and has the courage to develop that potential. When we dare to lead, we don’t pretend to have the right answers; we stay curious and ask the right questions. We don’t see power as finite and hoard it; we know that power becomes infinite when we share it with others. We don’t avoid difficult conversations and situations; we lean into vulnerability when it’s necessary to do good work. But daring leadership in a culture defined by scarcity, fear, and uncertainty requires skill-building around traits that are deeply and uniquely human. The irony is that we’re choosing not to invest in developing the hearts and minds of leaders at the exact same time as we’re scrambling to figure out what we have to offer that machines and AI can’t do better and faster. What can we do better? Empathy, connection, and courage, to start. Four-time #1 New York Times bestselling author Brené Brown has spent the past two decades studying the emotions and experiences that give meaning to our lives, and the past seven years working with transformative leaders and teams spanning the globe. She found that leaders in organizations ranging from small entrepreneurial startups and family-owned businesses to nonprofits, civic organizations, and Fortune 50 companies all ask the same question: How do you cultivate braver, more daring leaders, and how do you embed the value of courage in your culture? In this n