Champions of Illusion Book
Score: 1
From 1 Ratings

Champions of Illusion


  • Author : Susana Martinez-Conde
  • Publisher : Scientific American / Farrar, Straus and Giroux
  • Release Date : 2017-10-24
  • Genre: Medical
  • Pages : 176
  • ISBN 10 : 9780374718398
  • Total Read : 94
  • File Size : 12,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Champions of Illusion Summary:

A full-color celebration of stunning visual illusions and the science behind them In Champions of Illusion, Susana Martinez-Conde and Stephen Macknik present a smorgasbord of mystifying images, many selected from their Best Illusion of the Year Contest. Whether it’s false motion, tricks of perspective, or shifting colors, Champions of Illusion is packed with adventures in visual perception. If you have ever found yourself face-to-face with an utterly bewildering illusion, you know the powerful effect such images have on the mind. The question we often ask ourselves is, How is that possible? Martinez-Conde and Macknik, who study the intersection of neuroscience, illusions, and stage magic, explain just why we think we see the things we see. The Best Illusion of the Year Contest draws entries from vision scientists, artists, magicians, and mathematicians bent on creating today’s most beguiling illusions. Featuring the contest’s most bizarre effects and unbelievable mind tricks, along with classic illusions and illuminating descriptions of what is actually going on in your brain when you are deceived by visuals on the page, Champions of Illusion is an electrifying mix of science and magic that you will not soon forget.

The Science of Illusions Book

The Science of Illusions


  • Author : Jacques Ninio
  • Publisher : Cornell University Press
  • Release Date : 2001
  • Genre: Psychology
  • Pages : 240
  • ISBN 10 : 0801437709
  • Total Read : 98
  • File Size : 9,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Science of Illusions Summary:

A specialist in visual perception, Ninio (Centre National des Recherches Scientifiques, Paris) presents many classic and new illusions, explains the underlying logic of the various types, and suggests their value for neurological and physiological research. He does not provide an index. La Science des Illusions was published in 1998 by Editions Odile Jacob. Philip has translated widely from the French, including an autobiography of Francois Jacob. c. Book News Inc.

Grand Illusion Book

Grand Illusion


  • Author : John B. Judis
  • Publisher : Farrar Straus & Giroux
  • Release Date : 1992
  • Genre: History
  • Pages : 344
  • ISBN 10 : 0374165947
  • Total Read : 69
  • File Size : 12,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Grand Illusion Summary:

Focusing on the "American Century," the author explores the myths and realities of American power and discusses the role of the nation as a new century dawns. By the author of William F. Buckley, Jr.: Patron Saint of the Conservatives.

Sleights of Mind Book
Score: 3.5
From 9 Ratings

Sleights of Mind


  • Author : Sandra Blakeslee
  • Publisher : Profile Books
  • Release Date : 2011-02-03
  • Genre: Psychology
  • Pages : 304
  • ISBN 10 : 9781847652959
  • Total Read : 60
  • File Size : 13,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Sleights of Mind Summary:

What can magic tell us about ourselves and our daily lives? If you subtly change the subject during an uncomfortable conversation, did you know you're using attentional 'misdirection', a core technique of magic? And if you've ever bought an expensive item you'd sworn never to buy, you were probably unaware that the salesperson was, like an accomplished magician, a master at creating the 'illusion of choice'. Leading neuroscientists Stephen Macknik and Susana Martinez-Conde meet with magicians from all over the world to explain how the magician's art sheds light on consciousness, memory, attention, and belief. As the founders of the new discipline of NeuroMagic, they combine cutting-edge scientific research with startling insights into the tricks of the magic trade. By understanding how magic manipulates the processes in our brains, we can better understand how we work - in fields from law and education to marketing, health and psychology - for good and for ill.

Folk Illusions Book

Folk Illusions


  • Author : K. Brandon Barker
  • Publisher : Indiana University Press
  • Release Date : 2019-04-22
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages : 264
  • ISBN 10 : 9780253041128
  • Total Read : 59
  • File Size : 20,5 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Folk Illusions Summary:

Wiggling a pencil so that it looks like it is made of rubber, "stealing" your niece's nose, and listening for the sounds of the ocean in a conch shell– these are examples of folk illusions, youthful play forms that trade on perceptual oddities. In this groundbreaking study, K. Brandon Barker and Claiborne Rice argue that these easily overlooked instances of children's folklore offer an important avenue for studying perception and cognition in the contexts of social and embodied development. Folk illusions are traditionalized verbal and/or physical actions that are performed with the intention of creating a phantasm for one or more participants. Using a cross-disciplinary approach that combines the ethnographic methods of folklore with the empirical data of neuroscience, cognitive science, and psychology, Barker and Rice catalogue over eighty discrete folk illusions while exploring the complexities of embodied perception. Taken together as a genre of folklore, folk illusions show that people, starting from a young age, possess an awareness of the illusory tendencies of perceptual processes as well as an awareness that the distinctions between illusion and reality are always communally formed.

Empire of Illusion Book
Score: 3
From 30 Ratings

Empire of Illusion


  • Author : Chris Hedges
  • Publisher : Knopf Canada
  • Release Date : 2009-07-28
  • Genre: Social Science
  • Pages : 176
  • ISBN 10 : 9780307398581
  • Total Read : 74
  • File Size : 6,8 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Empire of Illusion Summary:

Pulitzer prize–winner Chris Hedges charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate society that craves fantasy, ecstasy and illusion. Chris Hedges argues that we now live in two societies: One, the minority, functions in a print-based, literate world, that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other, a growing majority, is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. In this “other society,” serious film and theatre, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins. In the tradition of Christopher Lasch’s The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman’s Amusing Ourselves to Death, Hedges navigates this culture — attending WWF contests as well as Ivy League graduation ceremonies — exposing an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

The Oxford Compendium of Visual Illusions Book

The Oxford Compendium of Visual Illusions


  • Author : Arthur Gilman Shapiro
  • Publisher : Oxford University Press
  • Release Date : 2017
  • Genre: Medical
  • Pages : 833
  • ISBN 10 : 9780199794607
  • Total Read : 93
  • File Size : 15,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
The Oxford Compendium of Visual Illusions Summary:

Visual illusions are compelling phenomena that draw attention to the brain's capacity to construct our perceptual world. The Compendium is a collection of over 100 chapters on visual illusions, written by the illusion creators or by vision scientists who have investigated mechanisms underlying the phenomena. --

Experiencing the Impossible Book

Experiencing the Impossible


  • Author : Gustav Kuhn
  • Publisher : MIT Press
  • Release Date : 2019-03-12
  • Genre: Psychology
  • Pages : 296
  • ISBN 10 : 9780262351522
  • Total Read : 67
  • File Size : 11,7 Mb

DOWNLOAD BOOK
Experiencing the Impossible Summary:

How the scientific study of magic reveals intriguing—and often unsettling—insights into the mysteries of the human mind. What do we see when we watch a magician pull a rabbit out of a hat or read a person's mind? We are captivated by an illusion; we applaud the fact that we have been fooled. Why do we enjoy experiencing what seems clearly impossible, or at least beyond our powers of explanation? In Experiencing the Impossible, Gustav Kuhn examines the psychological processes that underpin our experience of magic. Kuhn, a psychologist and a magician, reveals the intriguing—and often unsettling—insights into the human mind that the scientific study of magic provides. Magic, Kuhn explains, creates a cognitive conflict between what we believe to be true (for example, a rabbit could not be in that hat) and what we experience (a rabbit has just come out of that hat!). Drawing on the latest psychological, neurological, and philosophical research, he suggests that misdirection is at the heart of all magic tricks, and he offers a scientific theory of misdirection. He explores, among other topics, our propensity for magical thinking, the malleability of our perceptual experiences, forgetting and misremembering, free will and mind control, and how magic is applied outside entertaiment—the use of illusion in human-computer interaction, politics, warfare, and elsewhere. We may be surprised to learn how little of the world we actually perceive, how little we can trust what we see and remember, and how little we are in charge of our thoughts and actions. Exploring magic, Kuhn illuminates the complex—and almost magical—mechanisms underlying our daily activities.